Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New User

1. Back To Top    #1

New User

Hi everyone. I've been checking out this forum for about a week now as I'm in the process of getting a pool. Decided to register today and this is my very first post on this forum.
    I lived in Philadelphia, PA for thirty-two years and thankfully moved 45 miles southwest of the city to the suburbs for some country living just over two years ago. As a city employee, I was required to live in Philadelphia until my union was able to have the residency clause lifted in our last contract award. I'm still adjusting to the country life.
    My wife and I have been talking about getting a pool for several months now and recently had a couple contractors price the job for us. Surprisingly, the cost was actually LESS then I had anticipated, so after getting some funding together, we shelled out a down payment and we're currently waiting for our permits to be approved by our township. Hopefully we will have our project completed within the next two months or so.
    I've never had a pool before, nor have I ever had to take care of a pool so I've got a lot to learn. Hopefully it isn't as difficult as it seems to me right now or I'll be in trouble once I get it open next spring.
    I'm looking forward to gaining some knowledge from this board take a big leap into pool ownership.
    16'x32' Inground Vinyl, 21,100 gallons, Hayward 1.5 HP Super Pump, Hayward Pro Series S244T 3.1ft Sand Filter
    TFTestKits, Pool School, ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry, Chlorine/CYA Chart, PoolMath

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New User

Welcome to TFP!
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"