Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: newbie here

1. Back To Top    #1

newbie here

hi everyone,

I am a bran new pool owner. my pool has a hayward extreme cartridge filter. 52 inches high 18 feet accross i do have a solar cover any thoughts on a solar pill ? I know nothing about pools except you swim in them any info would be helpful
    i am here to learn all i can

thanks
    AG 18 feet accross 52" high pool wall 7000 gallons .... pool math = 7600
    Hayward extreme cartridge filter 100sq feet
    pool is heated by propane Hayward heater
    pool installed aug 12 2013

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: newbie here

how many gallons is it i have heard several numbers

3. Back To Top    #3

The solar pills have been shown not to work in the real world. Any wind at all and the alcohol gets moved to one side and becomes ineffective.

Your pool holds about 7,000 gallons.

A good place to start learning about your pool is by reading "The ABC's of Pool Chemistry" article in pool school. Once you've read that several times come back and ask anything you don't understand.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

4. Back To Top    #4

i was told by a pool store... not to add stablizer for this year is this okto do i will be closing my pool in one week

5. Back To Top    #5

Forget the pool store. Add your CYA by using an old sock filled with the CYA granules and tied off in front of a running return.

For how much to add, go to http://www.poolcalculator.com
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

6. Back To Top    #6

what is swg ... not sure how to use the pool calculator ... what is old stock

7. Back To Top    #7