Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Poolife turbo shock - ok to use?

1. Back To Top    #1

Poolife turbo shock - ok to use?

I've been sick and neglected my pool about a week now. I haven't tested but did put in a gal of bleach every other day or so. Somehow still clear and sparkly at the moment. I've run out of bleach and am not up to going to store. Then I remembered I have a box of 1 lb Poolife Turbo Shock bags that came with the pool. Problem is it says 78% calcium hypochlorite and 22% other. I searched online but couldn't find what "other" ingredients includes. Anyone know if this has copper or other nasties in it? If it's safe to use, then how do I figure out what it will raise FC? I looked at pool calculator but didn't know which powder to choose and none said 78%. Feel dumb but I've never used anything but bleach before. I just need something to tide me over a few days until I feel better. As always, thank you to the wise minds that keep this such a wonderful site! Last test results:

FC 5.5
    CC 0
    PH 7.5
    TA 160
    CH 220
    CYA 30

Based on my general daily burn rate and the amount I think I've added I'm thinking I will hit FC 0 sometime during the day tomorrow. Knock knock knocking on algae's door.
    Just bought a new house in the country, no pool yet. :(
    Hot tub..500 gals..bromine
    TF100 test kit and speedstir

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Poolife turbo shock - ok to use?

That looks like typical cal-hypo to me per the msds without copper. 1 lb will raise your CH by ~2.8...and your FC by 4 ppm.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

3. Back To Top    #3