Bleach ruining clothes

garyc

Sep 10, 2013
I've been using the BBB method for about 2 months now, and my water looks better than ever. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for my clothes: I've found several things with bleach spots on them. I know the simple answer here is to change before I add bleach to the water, but sometimes that's not very practical. Does anyone have any suggestions about techniques to avoid this? Thank you!

Welcome to tfp, garyc :wave:

How are you adding the bleach?

We recommend adding it in front of a pool return (water coming back to the pool). I do this by partially floating the bottle on the surface of the water and then pouring my desired amount of bleach slowly into the return stream. This has eliminated splashing for me.

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

I'm assuming you are referring to this happening while you are adding bleach to the pool while dressed in "street clothes". What I do is add the prescribed amount of bleach as determined by the Pool Calculator (see link in my sig) to a large 1 qt measuring cup and then dilute the bleach in the cup with water. Then I pour it slowly just above the water surface in front of a return jet. I define slowly as the pour stream out of the cup being about the width of a pencil.

If you pour the bleach while standing up and walking around the pool, your clothes will get spotted from splash-back - guaranteed. I learned that the hard way when I first switched to BBB.

I put it in much the way linen described. I bend down and pour it from right above the water. On a couple occasions I was pleased that I was able to pour it in without splashing at all, only to find out after my shirts were washed that they had bleach spots on them. What is a good resource to look for a bleach injection pump like Bama Rambler mentioned?