Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bleach ruining clothes

1. Back To Top    #1

Bleach ruining clothes

I've been using the BBB method for about 2 months now, and my water looks better than ever. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for my clothes: I've found several things with bleach spots on them. I know the simple answer here is to change before I add bleach to the water, but sometimes that's not very practical. Does anyone have any suggestions about techniques to avoid this? Thank you!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Bleach ruining clothes

Welcome to tfp, garyc

How are you adding the bleach?

We recommend adding it in front of a pool return (water coming back to the pool). I do this by partially floating the bottle on the surface of the water and then pouring my desired amount of bleach slowly into the return stream. This has eliminated splashing for me.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!

I'm assuming you are referring to this happening while you are adding bleach to the pool while dressed in "street clothes". What I do is add the prescribed amount of bleach as determined by the Pool Calculator (see link in my sig) to a large 1 qt measuring cup and then dilute the bleach in the cup with water. Then I pour it slowly just above the water surface in front of a return jet. I define slowly as the pour stream out of the cup being about the width of a pencil.