Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pentair Whisperflo 2 speed pump tripping breaker

1. Back To Top    #1

Pentair Whisperflo 2 speed pump tripping breaker

Good morning. I am replacing my old Triton Purex pump with a Pentair Whisperflo 2 speed pump. I ran new wiring from timer to pump (black/red/green) due to age of old wiring and fraying. After hooking to switch inside motor housing (green to ground, black to black (center of switch), red to either yellow or white from switch (outer wires on switch), I get motor working when toggled one way, trips the breaker when toggled the other way. I reversed black and red with same results (as expected). I've looked at side wiring diagram and read various forums to no avail. Any help/direction would be greatly appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pentair Whisperflo 2 speed pump tripping breaker

I'm no electrical expert, but it could it be due to the size of the breaker? Is it tripping in the high speed position? Breakers get old and go bad too.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

Can you post a picture of the wiring diagram on the side of the motor.
    2013 20x40 Vinyl Ingound Pool. 30K Gallons. Hayward Aqua Rite Chlorine Generator. Hayward C-3030 Cartridge Filter. 1.5 HP Pentair Pump. Pentair Magic Stream II Deck Jets. Pool Automation=Allen-Bradley PLC 5/04. TF-100 Test Kit.

4. Back To Top    #4