Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Do I need to replumb?

1. Back To Top    #1

Do I need to replumb?

Just replaced my Single speed pump with a 2-speed this week, the new pump is working great but on the low speed I'm not getting enough flow for my IntelliChlor IC-40. I think it might be an issue with my plumbing, at the IC-40 and at the pump. As you can see with the photos I have a 90 degree elbow right before the IC-40 and I think on the low speed of the pump it's not enough flow, plus it's running through the heating before that from the filter. I'm wondering if I re-plumbed just before the inlet of the IC-40 a straight piece of pipe 12 inches or more if that would help. Not sure what to do with the plumbing before the inlet of my pump but I don't like double 90 degree elbows at all. Any ideas? Or am I stuck to not being able to use the low speed of my pump with IC-40?

Thank you
    Attached Images Attached Images
    16,000 gallon, 1 hp 2-speed SuperFlo pump, Intellichlor IC40 Salt Chlorine Generator, Pentair Clean & Clear 240 Filter, Mastertemp 250 Heater, Vera Z-Wave home automation, Intermatic CA3750 for pump control

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Do I need to replumb?

A single 90 or two isn't going to make much of a difference. It is the entire plumbing that makes the difference.

What is the full speed filter pressure?

Can you step back and get a full pad equipment picture?

What pump did you have before?

Is all your plumbing 1 1/2"?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

3. Back To Top    #3

Back off and take a little wider picture of the pad.
    Which model pump do you have now?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator