Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Just bought a new/used hot tub, filled and when I turn it on jets come on and everything seems ok then..... error -03 ( water flow problem) it will show the error and turn off pump and heater. It will wait a minute then kick on and shut of 10 seconds later. It will then come on for 10 minutes straight then back to error..... I took out the old filter and ran without filter with no luck. Any ideas?
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Sounds like the flow switch is bad or at least intermittent.

    Give us all the info you can about the tub. Asaking us to diagnose the problem without telling us what brand, type and size it is, is like asking why won't my vehicle keep running.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Its a 98 Aspen Sweetwater spa, has a two speed sundance theramax pump, running off 110v right now (do have a 240v hookup that i might switch to) The tubs a four person 10 jet . If the tubs power is pulled for a few minutes and plugged back in the tub will clear the error and I can kick the jets on low/high without a problem but then 5 or 10 minutes later the tub kicks off throws the error and then trys to kick back on , runs the pump but kicks off after 10 seconds and repeats this cycle.
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    I was researching online and saw that it could be the pressure switch needs adjusting? Also pressure switch terminals and connections need cleaning? The spa did sit for three years ( drained ) and i just has the seals on the pump replaced ( also the impeller cause they broke it when replacing seal ) Going to go home on my lunch break and try these tips but ANY help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you ( oh and its a two speed pump that does circulation also )
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Do the things you found and then report back whether that works or not.

    If it doesn't work some pics of the wiring and equip might help.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Tried both and failed.......i am not sure my 110v is dedicated , do you think not enough power to the pump could cause this ? Never tripped a breaker but still. Here are some pics
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?





    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Did you try jumping that switch out temporarily and seeing if it would run?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    So i broke down and bought/replaced the pressure switch and its still throwing a "pressure switch open " error code. It will turn on and run for awhile without throwing the error code, but when i turn the power back on and reset the hot tub and turn the jets on HIGH it will throw the error code after 5 seconds. So it seems like turning the jets on high trips it faster but on low when the tub its just trying to fire up and heat the tub it throws the error after about 15 minutes. Any possible areas to look???
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    well, I left the hot tub on with the new pressure switch on and it cleared the error and now is running and heating!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have not tried to turn the jets on high though with fear it might trip the error.....I can't handle another problem with this tub at this moment and dont know why jets on high would effect the flow switch error ... Still open to any thoughts on why the error would occur when i turn them on high? thanks for all the help
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Error us piping in and off again, and when i turn the jets on high it instantly trips the pressure switch open . Beginning to think i should have bought a new tub.
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Is that a normally closed pressure switch or a normally open one?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Pressure switch OPEN. The tub keeps temp and will run now only throwing the Pressure switch open ERROR once in a while BUT anytime I kick the jets on HIGH or cycle through the jets ( low to high back to off and repeat ) it will throw the error ( pressure switch open ) Any reason turing the jets on higher would make the error trip faster?
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    If the pump is sucking in a lot of air at the suction side I could see it tripping the switch.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    How would I check/test for that>?
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    If you shut the air injection off do you still have lots of air coming out the jets?

    Have you tried aadjusring the pressure switch lower or higher and see what happens?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    SO i did some checking........If i turn off half the tubs jets it WILL run on HIGH without tripping the error ( water flow issue )
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    I have the pressure switch at like 1 and year it seems the high the number i adjust the more it trips. When you say " shut the air injection off " do you mean the Dial that is low to max thats out of the water??
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Yeah. You should be able to close it so that nothing but water is coming out of the jets.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Re: Help!! flow error/ pressure switch open?

    Ok turned those and its just water, not so bubbly . So with only 4 of 10 jets on it will run on low and high just fine...... But running all jets wide open trips the error. Let me tell you the owners manual error definition -03 Water Flow Problem ( Pessure switch is not closed when pump is activated. Heater is deactivated. Proper flow of water is inhibited or pressure switch has malfunctioned. Check for proper water level, pump is primed and/or clogged filter. ) That is what the manual says..... Just not sure why tub won't allow me to have all jets on at the same time.
    30' 22k Gallons
    ECCO 1.5 hp 19" sand filter w/ aqua smart filtration system
    AGP

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •