Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Can some sources of liquid chlorine raise TA?

1. Back To Top    #1

Can some sources of liquid chlorine raise TA?

First I'd like to say Thank You to everyone in this forum. This is my first year with a pool, and thanks to the BBB method it's been clear and algae free all summer. My question is, can some sources of liquid chlorine cause TA to rise? I read this on another thread, due to lye in the chlorine. I started the season using pucks and my levels didn't move much. I know tri-chlor lowers PH and TA, which I adjusted accordingly and LQ raises PH until it burns off then it comes back down, which is exactly what happened. Beginning in July I started using 12.5% LQ I got at BJ's in gallon bottles, and my TA rose 20ppm in a week. I brought it down with acid and aeration. Then I found a place that sells 12.5%LQ in 5ga.carboys, fresh deliveries everyday. After using this LQ my TA didn't move at all for over a month. Last week I started using the leftover LQ I still had from BJ's and the TA rose 20ppm again within a week. The levels are still within range but I'm curious, could that be cause of why this is happening? Thanks.

FC 5
    PH 7.4
    TA 110 up from 90 last week, (read on another thread to keep TA on the low end, it slows PH rise when using LQ)
    CYA 40
    CH 150
    18'rd vinyl AG 8000ga
    1hp Hayward Powerflo Matrix
    Hayward 90sq ft EC900 Cartridge Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Can some sources of liquid chlorine raise TA?

Bleach/liquid chlorine will not raise TA. Do you know what your fill water TA is? Have you been adding a lot lately? Do you have an autofill?