Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Help with readings please

1. Back To Top    #1

Help with readings please

Ok just used the tf-100 to test my water. My FC =0.25 and my CC=2.5 for aTC of 2.75. My CYA has been at least 100. I stopped using trichlor. The pool calculator says I need over 500 oz of bleach is that right? I'm sure my readings Re correct. I thought if CYA was so high that the chlorine would not be that low. I'm new to this please advise
    Thanks
    36,000 gal IG vinyl. Haywood pump and heater Hayward DE filter blue diamond robot. Hayward Aqua Rite SWG AQR-15

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help with readings please

What was your FC sample size? 10 ml or 25ml (almost full)

How many drops did you add to make the pink go away
    I then assume you added the 5 drops (pink again) and then how many more drops to make the pink go clear on the second test? 2.5 sounds like 5 R-0871 drops.

I ask as 0.25 FC is not a value you can measure with this kit.
    -- Guy --
    10K gallons in 21' Round 52 inch wall Aqualeader AG, Hayward Power Flow LX 1.5 HP pump motor, Hayward Perflex EC50AC DE filter w/Cellulose, Wide mouth skimmer, 2013 new Diver Dan (craigslist) to replace the faded old Hayward AquaBug. TF-100

3. Back To Top    #3

Yes 10 ml. I will re test and let you know.
    36,000 gal IG vinyl. Haywood pump and heater Hayward DE filter blue diamond robot. Hayward Aqua Rite SWG AQR-15

4. Back To Top    #4

What size water sample are you using?

The instructions say to use 10ml of pool water, resulting in FC results in increments of .5.

The instructions do have a printing error: after it says "Multiply the number of drops you added x 0.5" it incorrectly states: "(i.e. 14 drops x .05 = 7ppm)".

This error in the instructions has confused others as well.....

The instruction card should be corrected, or there should be a little note included that clarifies the mistake, IMO.