Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: pool full, no sand for filter, start with pump only?

1. Back To Top    #1

pool full, no sand for filter, start with pump only?

This is probably a simple question but I am still learning... I thought it was going to be easy getting sand for our filter but none nearby so I need to wait. Unfortunately I have the pool filled below the skimmer and would like to start circulating and adding chlorine. Can I just hook up the pump and then add the filter after I get the sand? If so, do I need to take water out of pool to below skimmer/return or can I temporarily 'plug' those points to plumb in the filter? Putting something in the bottom of the skimmer seems like it would work but how to plug the return?
    18*34 above ground doughboy
    Minnesota

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: pool full, no sand for filter, start with pump only?

What kind of filter valve to you have? If you run it on recirculate, it will skip the filter as well.

Anyway, no problem running just the pump for circulation. You may want to consider adding a valve on the skimmer and return lines so that you can easily isolate the equipment in the future so the pool will not drain.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks,