Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS panel

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Double Oak, Texas
    Posts
    28

    "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS panel

    On my Aqualink RS control panel it says "Air Temperature Open". Since there aren't any other issues with the system, I thought I might have a bad temp sensor, so I broke out the meter and it tested good at 7.47 Ohms. I have also switched positions of the Air and water temp sensor and the error remained with the air temp sensor when I did this and the water temp changed to reflect the correct air temp. I'm starting to think the problem is with the control board, but I thought I would get some other input. Does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thanks!

    Sam
    21K gal Plaster pool w/ 6 jet Spa, 2 HP Jandy Stealth JHPU2.0 (upgraded to a 2-speed motor) pump for pool/spa, Jandy 60 sqft DE filter, Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy Aqualink RS6 Controller. Water feature with Jandy JHPU1.0 Pump, Tiger Shark pool cleaner

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Did you clean the connector on the board? You could just have a corroded connector.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Double Oak, Texas
    Posts
    28

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    I did disconnect and reconnect the leads and I didn't see any corrosion, but I didn't actually clean them. I will head out there and do that now and post an update.

    Thanks for such a quick response!

    Sam
    21K gal Plaster pool w/ 6 jet Spa, 2 HP Jandy Stealth JHPU2.0 (upgraded to a 2-speed motor) pump for pool/spa, Jandy 60 sqft DE filter, Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy Aqualink RS6 Controller. Water feature with Jandy JHPU1.0 Pump, Tiger Shark pool cleaner

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Double Oak, Texas
    Posts
    28

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Well, I had removed the green terminal bar earlier when I tested the sensors resistance with the meter and I was pretty sure everything was good and clean. I just removed it again to re-check and it was completely clean, so I bent the leads coming from the 7&8 position on the circuit board very slightly to ensure good connection with the terminal bar. I then reconnected the terminal bar and now the air temp sensor reads correctly. I'm very surprised this worked, because the tolerance between the male pins on the circuit board and the female sockets on the terminal bar are very tight, but there was obviously a connection problem here.

    Thanks for the help in resolving this so quickly!

    Sam
    21K gal Plaster pool w/ 6 jet Spa, 2 HP Jandy Stealth JHPU2.0 (upgraded to a 2-speed motor) pump for pool/spa, Jandy 60 sqft DE filter, Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy Aqualink RS6 Controller. Water feature with Jandy JHPU1.0 Pump, Tiger Shark pool cleaner

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Glad it was that simple. It doesn't take much of a bad connection to affect thermistor voltages.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Double Oak, Texas
    Posts
    28

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Looks like I spoke too soon. I am back to Air temp open again. I'm going to try and make sure there is a solid connection again, but if that doesn't give me a permanent fix, I'm not sure what the next thing to try is.

    Sam
    21K gal Plaster pool w/ 6 jet Spa, 2 HP Jandy Stealth JHPU2.0 (upgraded to a 2-speed motor) pump for pool/spa, Jandy 60 sqft DE filter, Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy Aqualink RS6 Controller. Water feature with Jandy JHPU1.0 Pump, Tiger Shark pool cleaner

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Check the solder joints at the connector.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Buy a new air temp sensor.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Double Oak, Texas
    Posts
    28

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    ps0303, I tested the temp sensor with a meter and it tests good, and I have also swapped the air and water sensors and the problem stays with the connection at the circuit board, so this leads me to believe the sensor is working.

    Bama, I will check the solder joints at the pins and get back to you.

    Sam
    21K gal Plaster pool w/ 6 jet Spa, 2 HP Jandy Stealth JHPU2.0 (upgraded to a 2-speed motor) pump for pool/spa, Jandy 60 sqft DE filter, Aquapure 1400 SWG, Jandy Aqualink RS6 Controller. Water feature with Jandy JHPU1.0 Pump, Tiger Shark pool cleaner

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Sounds like you have a handle on the situation.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Quote Originally Posted by SamD View Post
    ps0303, I tested the temp sensor with a meter and it tests good, and I have also swapped the air and water sensors and the problem stays with the connection at the circuit board, so this leads me to believe the sensor is working.

    Bama, I will check the solder joints at the pins and get back to you.

    Sam
    Did you ever get this figured out? My air and water sensor are saying opened .
    built 4/08/2000 16 x32 460 Sq FT Pool 16,000 gallons 3.5 ft 5 ft 3.5 ft sport pool

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS pan

    Quote Originally Posted by SamD View Post
    ps0303, I tested the temp sensor with a meter and it tests good, and I have also swapped the air and water sensors and the problem stays with the connection at the circuit board, so this leads me to believe the sensor is working.

    Bama, I will check the solder joints at the pins and get back to you.

    Sam
    Sam I'm having same issue can you give me an update on what you did to fix?


    built 4/08/2000 16 x32 460 Sq FT Pool 16,000 gallons 3.5 ft 5 ft 3.5 ft sport pool

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS panel

    I found these guys that seem to be able to fix the board if there is an issue with the board...Im just unsure if that is the issue or not?

    http://blog.applianceboards.com/trou...-power-center/

    I haven't tried but does the green terminal just pop off the board? and to clean it what would I need to use?
    built 4/08/2000 16 x32 460 Sq FT Pool 16,000 gallons 3.5 ft 5 ft 3.5 ft sport pool

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS panel

    Well I ordered a refurbished rs4 board with the JJ chip in it...installed myself and everything is working so something had gone wrong with my original board.

    Does anyone buy old boards with bezel included for repair?
    built 4/08/2000 16 x32 460 Sq FT Pool 16,000 gallons 3.5 ft 5 ft 3.5 ft sport pool

  15. Back To Top    #15

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: "Air Temperature Sensor Open" message on Aqualink RS panel

    Check with the company in your post above, they might buy it from you.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •