My Numbers from Pool Store ?? :-|

I'm a newbie, and recently I noticed this "cotton" looking "stuff" at night in my pool floating. When I touch it, it seems to dissolve and look "milky"?? I think it's scale....not sure. I have a LaMotte ColorQ 7 on order should be in next week. And I intend in order the pool tester from this website, I convinced the wife she will need to help out since I'm color blind. But see my numbers below......I think these guys are crazy. They told me I have a 23000 gallon pool, but when I use the pool cal I average around 16000-17000.....I mean they told me to add 160 pounds of salt, while my generator registers at 80%. :shock: When I opened the pool in the spring my salt level was at 40%....I have slowly brought it to 80%.

FAC: 1
pH: 7.6
TA: 50
Calcium Hardness: 90
CYA: 0
Phosphates: 500
Salt: 2400

I want to thank everyone on here. From being on here last year throughout my pool build (a nightmare), until now finally trying to enjoy the pool, you have all been great! 8)

coolpackard69 said:
I'm a newbie, and recently I noticed this "cotton" looking "stuff" at night in my pool floating. When I touch it, it seems to dissolve and look "milky"?? I think it's scale....not sure.
Not scale, sounds more like white water mold because your chlorine levels are not high enough. Keep reading my comments and they will explain why but in a nutshell you salt and CYA are way to low for your SWG!
I have a LaMotte ColorQ 7 on order should be in next week. And I intend in order the pool tester from this website, I convinced the wife she will need to help out since I'm color blind. But see my numbers below......I think these guys are crazy.
Not really, based on your test numbers your pool is NOT balanced correctly. You unit is a rebranded Resiliance SWG, it's a good basic unit but for starters the recommened salt level is 3500-4000 ppm and with your size pool I would go with the higher amount!