Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Algae is not dying....what am I doing wrong

1. Back To Top    #1

Algae is not dying....what am I doing wrong

I am a science teacher so I consider myself above average in following directions. I feel I have followed the SLAM directions but my pool still looks the same (it has been 2.5 days so far).

My chemistry (using the K-2006):
    FC- 18 (keeping it here religiously)
    CC- 1
    CYA- 55
    pH- 7.2

Filter is running...psi looks good (have backwashed once). I have gone through 16 gallon jugs of liquid pool chlorine (10% concentration). So trouble shoot with me....what do I need to do now?

I have not been testing my CH or Phosphates, do I need to?

20K, plaster, DE, so full of algae it hurts

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Algae is not dying....what am I doing wrong

Continue to SLAM the pool for as long as it takes. That pool looks like it has been without adequate chlorine for a pretty good while before you started to SLAM so you are likely in for a LOT more chlorine consumption.

With a CYA of 55 ppm, your SLAM value should be 22 or so.....use the chart in Pool School and the clearing process may very well speed up.

read "The ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry" up in Pool School....it will tell you that CH and phosphates are irrelevant to algae.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Looks like you are not keeping your shock level of FC high enough. With your CYA of 55 you should be maintaining an FC of between 20-24. See this chart pool-school/chlorine_cya_chart_shock My smaller AGP took over a week to kill all the algae and return it to crystal clear water. Keep those FC levels up and be patient!
    6423 AG Intex 18 x 48 Intex 2100 GPH Sand Filter Pool Pump TF100 test kit

4. Back To Top    #4

Patience! It didn't get like that overnight. Welcome!