Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Closing and packing Ultraframe AGP

1. Back To Top    #1

Closing and packing Ultraframe AGP

I know we're only at the beginning of August, but I'm a school teacher, and I've already gone back to work.

My wife is concerned that I'm not going to have time to vacuum and maintain the pool once the students come back (which is probably true).

We decided to take the pool down this year, so I can do more work under the pool next spring, after that, we'll probably leave it up.

ANYWAY, I know I've seen steps and stuff about how to clean, care, and pack AGPs but I can't find them.

Can anybody share what I need to do, or share the right link?

Thanks
    16x48 Intex Ultraframe vinyl AGP, 2150 gph sand filter/pump (Intex SF70110), Hayward Skimmer, TF-100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Closing and packing Ultraframe AGP

Others may have more tips or may know the link you are referring to. All we do is drain it then I use a shop vac and immersion pump (I think that is what it is called) to get out the stuff below the drains. Then we either leave it up for a day in the sun or use a leaf blower to get it all the way dry on the inside. Then disassemble and get the bottom dry. We have a through-wall skimmer we take out but I think others have left it in. Put the metal parts in one big trash can on wheels. Put the liner in another trash can on wheels and store in the garage. That's all we do.
    POOL: Intex ultra new in 2014 (32 x 16 x 52) (seasonal; on concrete pad covered with 1.5" extruded or whatever foam insulation sheets - ugly, but comfy); added a through-wall skimmer; I add salt for feel. EQUIPMENT: Pentair SuperFlo pump (1HP, 2SPD); Pentair cartridge filter (200 sq. ft); Pentair MasterTemp natural gas heater (400,000 btu) Climate/Location: Eastern Nebraska

3. Back To Top    #3

What do you do to the water prior to draining?

Also, you don't do anything else to the liner? No problems?