Jackson, NJ
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair iChlor 30
I have been using BBB for several years and have been entirely satisfied with the results. I generally follow the simplified FC/CYA chart and do an OTO test and chlorine addition each evening to adjust to the recommended target or slightly above. Depending on sun and bather load, I stay above the minimum recommended FC in the table, but occasionally drop below. My adjustments have always been successful in avoiding any algae problems or even incipient cloudiness. I do the full TF-100 range of tests weekly.

This year I installed the Liquidator. My pool is 20,000 gallons, in full sun (Central New Jersey) with regular use, so I ran the the Liquidator near the top of the range (4), while running my pump 12-14 hrs. per day to keep my FC at target (5 ppm @40 ppm CYA).

As the Summer progressed I found it more difficult to maintain the FC target throughout the day. So, I used my tried and true method of making small manual additions each evening (which worked as well as it had in the past.) Then, I decided to "experiment" (or I just got lazy!) and stopped making manual adjustments. I still do the OTO test each evening and have had to make a few manual additions when sun and grandchildren made it necessary. For the most part, however, I find that running FC at the minimum or even below (down to 2.5 ppm routinely) I still maintain a clean and clear pool. Other than my CYA level, I find myself operating as if I had an SWG.

It seems I read recently of similar experience, but no details. Any explanation or recommendation?

Today's numbers:

FC 5 (pump ran all night - no sun/no load yesterday)
CC 0
pH 7.5
TA 70
CYA 40

I think you have a few variables to play with.

• 1. What concentration bleach are you using? Are you using at least 10%?
  • 2. You can adjust the output higher than 4 on the LQ. You might need the higher than suggested/recommended setting by the manufacturer.