Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Is chlorine in the pool corroding my tools?

1. Back To Top    #1

Is chlorine in the pool corroding my tools?

Hi everybody! We moved to the Tampa/St Pete area about 5 years ago and bought a in-ground pool home there. This is the first time we have had a pool home. The pool is about 20' straight behind the three car garage, separated by the patio . The garage has a ventilation window in the back wall and there are soffit ventilation ducts in the roof area, and the ceiling in the garage is open, no attic. In other-words the garage has many vented openings that are open in close proximity to the pool.

I am a semi-retired mechanic....ok...I'm a car guy I have lots of tools and shop equipment as well as a couple of classic cars and two motorcycles. Since moving here, I am noticing increased rusting on just about everything in the shop. Tools, equipment, bumpers, you name it. Nasty, aggressive corrosion. I am quite sure that this is the result of the evaporation of chlorine from the pool that is causing this. We are almost the exact same distance from the ocean as we were when we lived in Ft Lauderdale so that's not it. It has to be something the pool is doing, and the only possible thing is the Chlorine in it....right?

So am I right, is it the Chlorine evaporating from the pool that is doing this? If so, what is the alternative? Is there a way to keep a pool clean and sanitary that does not use corrosive chemicals? Sealing up the shop is not really viable, it would entail the complete installation of an attic as well as an A/C system. Its doable as a last resort, but there must be a viable way to reduce the corrosion coming from the pool.....or am I wrong? I am a newbie here, but I know how much knowledge is around a forum like this, I am sure the answer(s) are here!
    Thanks folks!!