Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: High speed or Low?

1. Back To Top    #1

High speed or Low?

Century B2982 motor. I'm new to 2 speed motors.

High (7.4 amps):
    Run 3-4 hours
    Better skimming action, Poolskim "cyclones" (quite amazing)
    Better circulation
    Filter pressure 25 psi

Low (1.4 amps):
    Run 8-9 hours
    Main skimmer doesn't do a thing, Poolskim "works"
    Could be stagnant areas?
    Filter pressure 8 psi
    A little cheaper to run, even 9 hours.

Which one is best? Better motor life? Better filtering? Better chemical dispersal? What is "normal" for those that have a 2 speed motor?
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: High speed or Low?

Low - for the WAAAAY better electric bill.

... and supposedly the filter works better on low.
    TFP Moderator Chris V. ~16K Pool & Spa, 48NSF DE, IG Plaster Circa 2000, Intermatic PE653, Challenger pump with a 2 speed B2984, 20gal stenner chlorine injection, Houston, TX
    One cannot follow Islam and Christianity at the same time, nor can one follow pool store methods and TFP at the same time.
    Pool School -- Pool Math -- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

You will still have a decent amount of circulation in your pool on low, stagnant areas shouldn't be a problem. I run mine 24/7, which is overkill I know but it actually uses less power than if I ran high for 4 hours so I figure why not. The main skimmer will still work just fine, I have to empty my basket every day, and with the pool skim you shouldn't have a problem.

If in doubt give it a week or two and see what you think of the results.