Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Way to much chlorine??

1. Back To Top    #1

Way to much chlorine??

So I'm new to water chemistry and the label on my chloraid said add 1/2 TBS per 100 gallons and my tub is 500. But I used the wrong cap and ended putting about 2 oz/ 10-12 TBS in. Now my test strips show 10 ppm free chlorine.

I just replaced my circ pump so my main concern is if its harmful to the equipment like the pump/filters/ozone.

Should I be concerned about my equipment? If so I may drain about half the tub. Or is it OK to leave in sun for a few days? Should I keep running the jets? Also is it OK to use?
    Intex 15'x48" AG metal frame pool (4,440 gal), Krystal Clear (1600) 14" sand filter, Taylor K2006 test kit, Intex Deluxe Maintenance Kit/vacuum (love it!), Intex Deluxe Skimmer, BBB.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Way to much chlorine??

What is the ingredient of the chlorine you used?

If it was Dichlor you raised the FC by 17 ppm and the CYA by 15. If that's the case, I wouldn't worry about it.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    What is the ingredient of the chlorine you used?

If it was Dichlor you raised the FC by 17 ppm and the CYA by 15. If that's the case, I wouldn't worry about it.
    Sodium dichloro-S-triazinetrione

That's dichlor correct? So I'm OK?
    Intex 15'x48" AG metal frame pool (4,440 gal), Krystal Clear (1600) 14" sand filter, Taylor K2006 test kit, Intex Deluxe Maintenance Kit/vacuum (love it!), Intex Deluxe Skimmer, BBB.

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by spanoob9
    Sodium dichloro-S-triazinetrione

That's dichlor correct? So I'm OK?
    Correct, that is what we refer to as "dichlor"
    -- Guy --