Proper Chemical Balance

Jul 29, 2013
OK so i'm new to pool ownership. Just had my new pool about 3 weeks

30' round above ground approx avg dept 4.5' so around 23800-24000 gallons.

Just picked up my TF100 test kit and ran all the tests since i previously only had the quick chlorine and pH dropper test that came with pool. Found it very difficult to read the colours on it.

It is SWG pool with Aquatrol system.

Here are my readings

FC 1.5
CC 0
TC 1.5
TA 170
Calcium 210
CYA ??? I filled tube up to the max before i could not see black dot

pH 7.5?? How can you more accuratlly measure this since sometimes it is difficult to distinguish the colours or tell which it is closer to?
Salt 3400
Temp 80

I too a sample to pool store last week they said everything was ok but I needed to add baking soda and Calcium to bring up TA and Calcium. It now appears TA is a bit too high??

Chlorine just yesterday was farly bright yellow on the cheap tester kit that came with the pool after I had run aqua trol on superchlorinate for 24 hrs since it appeared prior the chlorine was a bit low. Yesterday had about 8 people over for a swim and we were in and out of the pool for the afternoon.

Now Chlorine is a bit low?? is that normal? was not extremly hot or sunny day. have aquatrol set at 50% and am running pump usually on high from about 9am till 5pm (for solar Heat) then longer off solar heat for maybe another 4 hours.

suggestions??

Welcome to TFP.

Since your CYA is so low it's no wonder you're FC is low especially after that many people in the pool.

Don't worry about your TA as it'll come down by you adjusting the pH whenever it needs it.

I'd add some bleach in the pool to get to about 4 ppm FC. Then I'd get enough CYA to bring it to about 60 ppm and add that in a sock in front of a running return.