Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 65

Thread: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    pH - 8.2
    FC - .5
    TC .5
    TA 70
    CH 300

    CYA 20
    SALT - 2650

    TEMP 86

    I've watched my CYA and it normally stays pretty level - between 50 and 70. But for some reason, it took a nose dive. I put my numbers in the PC, and see what to add, but I want to do it in the right order.

    Thank you in advance..
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  2. Back To Top    #2
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    What test kit did you use to get those results ?

    You need chlorine.
    PH is high.

    I would get some chlorine in there ASAP to a level of 2-3 ppm
    Then add stabilizer to get to 30-50 ppm. The stabilizer will also lower your PH. Pool calc will tell you how much x amount of stabilizer will lower PH. If PH is still not where you want it use acid to lower it.


    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    I'm going to assume you used your TF-100. Did you do anything different with this CYA test? It is unusual for it to suddenly drop, especially that much! I want to believe it was a testing error unless you recently lost over half of your water.

    pwrstrk is right on the money, you should adjust your pH and FC first, CYA second (well third). I would retest your CYA before you add any more though, make sure you do it on a sunny day, back to the sun so the test is in your shadow. After you test, pour the water back in the bottle, shake it again, and do it again to verify your results.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    The T-100 kit that Dave sells on here..

    I usually have to add acid twice a week because the spill way, waterfalls from the grotto and the ledge spout run the whole time the pool pump is on. My CYA has never been this low..
    I did get some chlorine and acid in there about an hour ago, but if my CYA is off, it won't help much I guess.

    I bought the stabilizer last week at the pool store, and the guy told me to be real careful adding that, because it could turn my pool into a swamp. So I was adding it gradually (CYA was at 30 at that point.)

    I've had 2 toddlers in swim diapers in there several times a week.. Not sure how the diapers help - but it's freaking me out.

    Thank you!
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  5. Back To Top    #5
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Never heard of stabilizer turning a pool into a swamp. Low FC levels will do that.

    Get your PH adjusted and get the stabilizer in there. Let pump run for 24 hrs. It will take a couple of days to a week to fully register. Assume its there for whatever level of CYA you are shooting for and adjust FC to that range. Don't forget the stabilizer will lower your PH a little


    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Thank you Donaldson..

    Yes we've had more rain than usual this year.. plus I've had my spa drain into the pool at night, and I'm sure it went out the drain as well. (The spa drained 11 inches in 1 night!) The PB came and fixed it. I didn't think of testing the CYA right away tho.

    I do the CYA test like you mentioned... but I will start doing it twice. Good thought. Thank you..
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    That could explain it. You don't have an auto filler by chance do you?
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Thank you Jeff.. Think I should add a little algae-side as a preventive? I have some.. or just bleach. I added 20 lbs of salt last week, and it is reading low again.. something is going on.
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    No, I don't have an autofiller. Just me and my hose.
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  10. Back To Top    #10
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    No algaecide. Use bleach to help the SWG. FC levels got low because CYA level got too low.

    I just saw you had a SWG. CYA level for that is 70-80 ppm. Sorry I missed the SWG.


    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Ok! I'm on it. Bleach, & acid, I'll add salt and stabilizer tomorrow after I get the FC up to a respectable level.

    I'll go run another FC test in a bit. Thanks!
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Yeah, salt and CYA only are lost to water replacement, so I agree something is going on. Have you had several inches of rain in the past week? For your pool it should take a couple thousand gallons of water to see changes like you are.

    I guess only thing to do is get your pH and chlorine set tonight, get your CYA and salt set tomorrow, and see what happens. Keep an eye on water level and hopefully this was all just a fluke of nature.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Will DO! Thanks!
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    FC is at 2.5
    pH is 7.2

    Just added more bleach. I didn't add the full amount the first time
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    This morning:

    pH 7.5
    FC 5.5
    CC 1
    TC 6.5
    TA 70
    CH 300
    CYA 50
    SALT 3150
    TEMP 81 WATER

    Looks clear but feels acidic..? Yesterday PC said to
    add 60oz Bleach -
    32 oz Stabilizer and
    80 lbs salt (I only added 60 lbs because I'm not sure if EasyTouch is spot on..)

    I clean my skimmer out with a "Magic Eraser" all the time which wipes off off the accumulated "scum" (for lack of a better word.) Well last night, after adding the above chemicals, the scum was very dark brown, almost black. I cleaned it, and this morning, it's back. I am guessing this is the crud that was in my water, and the chemicals are working at cleaning it up..?

    PC says to add more stabilizer - or should I wait? Thanks so much!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    You need to follow the SLAM process, your CC's are above .5 and you are getting some gunk build up. Do not add more CYA until you are finished SLAMming the pool.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Thanks ping..
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    I know I've seen it somewhere - but where can I find the "Shock Level" for my pool?

    My CYA level isn't on the chart I found.

    CYA is 50 (up from 25, 2 days ago)
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    Just noticed that the ring around the light fixture in the grotto is loose on the bottom. I'm wondering if I might have algae lurking back there. I just started the SLAMing process, so I don't think I ought to get in there right away.. Is there a safe time to get in to have a look? I just dumped 357 oz of bleach in the pool. I found ChemGeek's Chart that showed the shock level for my low CYA and used the PC to find out how much bleach was necessary.
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Re: CYA is way too low - Advice please!

    FC is only at 12..
    TC 12

    CYA is 50

    So I guess I add more bleach..?
    Helen
    Dallas Area, 16,000 gal IG, Easytouch 8 computer, Intelliflo 3HP Variable Speed pool pump, Pentair Smart Pump 4x160, Pentair 3/4 HP Booster Pump, FNS 60 DE 60, Mastertemp 400, Rainbow 320, Dual Timer w/ freeze protection, Intellichor SWG, TF100 Test Kit, POOL FILLED AUG 3, 2012, ORDER YOUR TF100 KIT FROM http://tftestkits.net
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/under...ie-t49936.html

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •