Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: algae maybe

  1. Back To Top    #1
    lkalred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Houlton, Maine
    Posts
    23

    algae maybe

    I have read that it is possible to get algae even though the CC is 0, you can pass the OCLT, and the water is clear. I have several light green spots on the pool plaster that are slowly becoming more prominent. I have been very careful to maintain the FC at 6-8 with a CYA of 40-50 with daily testing. SLAM is the next logical step. Guess I am surprised that some species of algae shows up anyway. I am brushing the pool surfaces regularly. These stains are quite difficult to remove, if at all, with vigorous brushing.
    Is it possible to have iron stains that resemble algae? Since this pool is over twenty years old and my guardianship has been for less than one year, I don't know the history of what this pool has been subjected to.
    Is this really algae?


    Current levels:

    FC-6
    CC-0
    ph-7.2
    TA-50
    CH-350
    CYA-40

    Thanks


    Keith
    250Gal, portable spa, K-2006

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: algae maybe

    Any chance we can get some pictures? I don't know how likely it is that it could be algae, and if they don't brush off I am tempted to say they aren't, but a few pictures could sure help get you some more specific answers.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: algae maybe

    If it is green Edit: [s:17vrp5y0]and you can brush it off[/s:17vrp5y0], it sounds like algae.

    Where are the stains in your pool? Can you post a pic?

    What type of brush are you using? Nylon, combo, etc.?

    I suggest you look in all the nooks and crannies. Do you have any underwater light niches? If yes, then pull them out, clean them and let them be exposed to higher FC. Brush/clean ladders, steps, skimmers and any thing that could hide algae.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    lkalred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Houlton, Maine
    Posts
    23

    Re: algae maybe

    Hey everybody,

    Tried to take pictures of what's going on in pool, but the light stains did not show. Regardless, the next day the stains weren't light and brushing stirred large green clouds. SLAM initiated at 2200, 7/24. Since my CYA level is between 40 and 50, brought FC up to 20 and have held it there. All day yesterday the FC was down significantly every time I would test. Last night I lost 2.5ppm, but, and this is where I'm at a loss, the CC level has remained has remained at 0-.5 the whole time.
    My question is if chlorine is obviously being consumed, shouldn't there be a spike in the chloramines as well and how is it possible that the CC has remained between 0-.5 for weeks now if algae was building in the pool? Why wasn't a FC level between 4-8, maintained mostly ~8, enough to prevent algae? We have not had any more storms. The temp. has not been excessively high. Have actually noted a decrease in organic material being blown into pool and needing to be vacuumed out. The water has been crystal clear the whole time.
    Please forgive all the newbie questions. Have been around long enough to know what to do but don't know the whys yet.

    On a side note, have noticed that the scaling present in my pool has lightened some in response to neg. CSI being kept at ~-.6. Will keep at it.

    Thanks TFP!!!

    Todays testing:

    FC-18.5 (added enough 10% to bring back to 20)
    CC-0
    other levels are from 24th, prior to SLAM
    ph-7.1
    TA-50
    CH-350
    CYA-40
    CSI:-0.55

    Thanks


    Keith
    250Gal, portable spa, K-2006

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: algae maybe

    What type of brush are you using? Nylon, combo, etc.?

    I suggest you look in all the nooks and crannies. Do you have any underwater light niches? If yes, then pull them out, clean them and let them be exposed to higher FC. Brush/clean ladders, steps, skimmers and any thing that could hide algae.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    lkalred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Houlton, Maine
    Posts
    23

    Re: algae maybe

    My question is if chlorine is obviously being consumed, shouldn't there be a spike in the chloramines
    250Gal, portable spa, K-2006

  7. Back To Top    #7
    lkalred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Houlton, Maine
    Posts
    23

    Re: algae maybe

    And yes, I do have an underwater light. But, I don't have any idea about how to open it up. Don't want to pull it out and then not be able to get it back in or subject the water I'm in to 110AC. Woudn't be like the butter knife in the socket thing that we all did as children, where I could immediately disengage. And even 110 can kill, with prolonged exposure.
    I'm beginning to understand just how insidious and stubborn algae can be.
    250Gal, portable spa, K-2006

  8. Back To Top    #8
    msgtdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    653

    Re: algae maybe

    Combined chlorine (chloramine, dichloramine, and nitrogen trichloride) primarily results from Free Chlorine (aka hypochlorous acid) oxidizing nitrogen based componds, such as urine/urea) ammonia, sweat, etc. If all you are doing is killing algae and not oxidizing the above, it's very possible you won't ever see CC show up before, during, or after the SLAM process.
    This came from here http://www.troublefreepool.com/no-cc...ng-t66603.html

    Here's a thread of what can be behind the light http://www.troublefreepool.com/think...ue-t65957.html

    I don't think most are difficult to remove, but since I don't have one I can't help with that. Someone I'm sure will though.
    Dan D
    Used 2003 Aqua Leader 27'x52", 17,800 w/10" hopper, SwimPro SW256T 250# sand filter, Hayward PowerFlo LX pump 1hp impellor, Emerson 1 1/2 hp motor, setup Aug 2012 Summer 2011 used Summer Escapes Ring pool 14' x 42", Intex 1600gph sand filter, HTH 6 way test kitTF-100 w/stirrer, Well water @ FC=0, PH=7.2, TA=290, CH=320

  9. Back To Top    #9
    lkalred's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Houlton, Maine
    Posts
    23

    Re: algae maybe

    Thanks a lot MSGTDAN!!

    YOU DA MAN DAN!!!

    The kernels of wisdom to be found here re: taking care of a pool are just amazing and just what I need.

    Now, I'm not relishing the thought of pulling the light fixture but I'm sure it needs doing and this will give me some encouragement to 'just go do it'. There's nowhere else that I can't get to easily, so this should reduce my FC demand.
    250Gal, portable spa, K-2006

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: algae maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by lkalred
    My question is if chlorine is obviously being consumed, shouldn't there be a spike in the chloramines as well and how is it possible that the CC has remained between 0-.5 for weeks now if algae was building in the pool? Why wasn't a FC level between 4-8, maintained mostly ~8, enough to prevent algae?
    Chlorine consumption does not necessarily lead to CC because the reactions can be local (i.e. near the algae) and continue on to end products that don't register as CC, such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen gas and water (same products as found when "burning" organics).

    I'm not so sure that something that is green and sticking so hard to the pool surface is algae. Usually if it sticks and is algae then it's black algae, not green. Green algae clumps but isn't that hard to brush off. Yellow/mustard algae is even easier to move around and is dust-like.

    Anyway, the OCLT loss may indicate something lurking somewhere so it will be interesting to see what is behind the light niche. Also, you may consider improving the circulation of water in the area where you found the algae -- sounds like your bottom circulation is poor.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: algae maybe

    Quote Originally Posted by lkalred
    And yes, I do have an underwater light. But, I don't have any idea about how to open it up. Don't want to pull it out and then not be able to get it back in or subject the water I'm in to 110AC. Woudn't be like the butter knife in the socket thing that we all did as children, where I could immediately disengage. And even 110 can kill, with prolonged exposure.
    I'm beginning to understand just how insidious and stubborn algae can be.
    Your fear of being in electrified water is a healthy one. Find the breaker for your pool light and flip it off before touching anything to remove the light from the niche. Right after flipping the breaker off, try turning on the light to make sure it doesn't have power, and then put the light switch in the off position. Leave the breaker flipped off and the light turned off until after you clean the niche and put everything back together again.
    Outdoor 14,000 gallon IG plaster pool built in 2000 with spillover spa, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump with MagneTek motor, Sta-Rite cartridge pool filter with 300 ft2 filtration area and 0.33 gpm/ft2 filtration rate, Aquabot Rapids 4WD robotic pool cleaner, Raypak digital gas heater, and Intermatic mechanical timer located in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •