Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CYA - trouble using test

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    10

    CYA - trouble using test

    I'm a new to all this pool stuff.

    I posted in Just Getting Starting, see geting-pool-chemistry-balanced-t65812.html

    Test strips indicated off-the-scale CYA, I have drain approximately 50% of the water, CYA still very very high. On the recommendation of this forum I have purchased a Taylor K2006 test kit, and I have carried out the CYA test and I'm confused over the results.

    I added 7ml of pool water, then added the correct CYA agent from the kit, to the 14ml line in the test bottle, shook it for 30secs, and then slowly added to test tube until the block dot disappeared, the dot disappeared very quickly, and the instructions tell you to read the number of the back of the tube, the thing is, the dot disappeared before it even reached the numbering on the back, does this mean it is really high...of the scale high?

    I was wondering if the instructions meant the scale on the side of the tube, if so, that would be 1.8ppm.

    [/URL]
    Pool size in gallons - 13,640
    Filter type - Pentair Sand
    In ground
    Plaster/pebble, approx 33ft x 11ft
    Hayward SP2607X10 Super Pump 1-HP Max-Rated Single-Speed
    Age - not sure, most likely ~20 years

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: CYA - trouble using test

    That means your CYA is WAY above 100ppm. Try the test again with a 50/50 mix of pool and tap water to start, then the reagent, then double the reading.

    Actually your CYA is so high, you may need to use 25% pool and 75% tap water and the multiply the reading by 4. I would do this since the K-2006 does not give you enough CYA reagent for more than a couple tests.

    You can dump the mixture back and forth a few times to see if you consistently get the same reading.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: CYA - trouble using test

    Yep, you can now use the infamous phrase, "The numbers are off the scale!" Follow the 4:1 dilution jblizzle suggested and you will get a rough idea. Be prepared to do another massive drain, your CYA must have been truly insane before your last one
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: CYA - trouble using test

    I see lots of draining and water replacement in your future, you may want to go ahead and buy more CYA reagent now:

    tf test kits has it here in larger 8 oz bottles:

    http://tftestkits.net/R-0013-CYA-Refill-8-0z-p52.html
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    10

    Re: CYA - trouble using test

    Thanks for all the advice. Yep, lots of draining to do, I get the feeling the previous owners of the house didn't do any testing, and just kept adding tabs to the pool, and this is the end result.

    Maybe I can bottle my water and sell to somebody who needs to add CYA? :P (Joking!)

    I'll get some more CYA reagent as well and report back.
    Pool size in gallons - 13,640
    Filter type - Pentair Sand
    In ground
    Plaster/pebble, approx 33ft x 11ft
    Hayward SP2607X10 Super Pump 1-HP Max-Rated Single-Speed
    Age - not sure, most likely ~20 years

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: CYA - trouble using test

    Quote Originally Posted by fishface
    Maybe I can bottle my water and sell to somebody who needs to add CYA?
    There you go ... business opportunity ... "Get it while it lasts!!! Instantly mixes in to your water ... no need to wait a week to test!!! Get yours now!!!"
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •