Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: high phosphates???

  1. Back To Top    #1

    high phosphates???

    I've had a green pool ever since opening in May...one pool store sold me Staintrine. Didn't help. They said my chemicals were perfect. Today I took water sample to a different pool store. Told them my story... they said my phosphate level is 1000. Sold me commercial phosphate remover and calcium stuff. Then I started researching what phosphates do to the water and it makes sense, as we are surrounded by trees and debri got in the pool. BUT, do I really just need to shock or SLAM (??)... my CYA level is OK at 30ppm and I'm getting no chlorine level. 17.000 gallon pool, above ground.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: high phosphates???

    Welcome to TFP!

    Do you mean clear transparent green water, or cloudy/murky green water?

    Phosphates are irrelevant as long as you maintain appropriate FC levels.

    Could you post a complete set of water test results?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Deep East Texas
    Posts
    76

    Re: high phosphates???

    Phosphate remover is an expensive way to starve some algae and will only postpone at best without chlorine in the water. Post results of your own if possible.
    In ground 25,000 gallon - vinyl liner - Sand filter - residential pool
    Also maintain two commercial 190,000 gallon competitive indoor bromine facilities -9x Sand filters

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: high phosphates???

    i can post test results from the pool place: FC=0, TC=0, CC=0, Ph=7.4, CYA=30, total alkalinity=100, same for adjusted total alkalinity, calcium hardness=100.
    the water is light cloudy green, can see to third step of ladder, filter runs 24/7, cartridge filter that i take out and hose down once a day and replace with the alternate that i've cleaned from day before. thinking i need to order a test kit? thanks SO MUCH for the help!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: high phosphates???

    [slam:236suo56]Time to SLAM the pool.[/slam:236suo56]
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: high phosphates???

    Ok, I'm slamming all day today and will see where my FC level is by morning. Once the pool maintains the correct level, will my water be clear or should I expect a few more days of cloudy green until all the dead stuff filters out?? One more question: the phosphate remover seemed to take a lot of green crud out fast... If I wanted to clear the pool as fast as possible, would it work to put more phosphate remover in along with shocking?

  7. Back To Top    #7
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: high phosphates???

    Brace yourself. This could take days. Or weeks, depending on how much algae you have and how vigilant you are with the SLAM. Did you get the test kit?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: high phosphates???

    Welcome to TFP! You can get this cleared, we will help make sure you do!

    You aren't done until the pool is clear, you pass the OCLT, and you have 0.5 CC or less. If any of that doesn't make sense please reread the SLAM process, a couple times in necessary. You need to maintain the chlorine level at or above 13 during that entire time. No matter how much chlorine it takes to get it there and keep it there - you do it and you will see it turn from green to white to clear.

    If you have phosphate remover that you cannot return then go ahead and use it. It won't do much so don't buy any more, but if you have extra then go for it.

    Oh, what chlorine source are you using to SLAM? If it's a liquid, what percentage does it say it is? If it's powder what is the active ingredient?
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: high phosphates???

    I ordered a test kit and some instant liquid chlorine from In theSwim and was hoping it would be here today but it's not. So yesterday I bought a 5 lb. container of "super soluble" from pool store. It's 99% chlorine. Put the whole thing in this morning and according to test strip(which is all I have right now) the FC level is at least 10. Pool lady said she would add 15 lbs but I wasn't into spending $150 when I have an order coming. So today, while the level was still high, I added 2 gallons of 8.25% bleach... Then I added 2 1# bags of shock (48%). I'll check one more time tonite and add more if the test strip looks like it's getting lighter purple, but it's maintaining the dark purple level all day. I feel like such a rookie without the test kit but I had to start doing something! I. See no change in color, it's not starting to look gray yet...

    17500 gallon above ground

  10. Back To Top    #10
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: high phosphates???

    What test kit did you order? Are you reading pool school? You are just throwing chemicals into your pool. That won't work. Bleach is good. You did not need to order liquid chlorine. Unless it's cheaper.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: high phosphates???

    Quote Originally Posted by Peachcat
    I bought a 5 lb. container of "super soluble" from pool store. It's 99% chlorine.
    It's dichlor, which raised your CYA by about 20, so you now need to treat your pool as if you have a CYA of 50 instead of 30. It won't show up on tests for a week or so but it is in there. Thank goodness you didn't listen to the pool lady or you would be doing some refilling. The "instant liquid chlorine" from in the swim is nothing but cal-hypo, which is the same as the bags of shock. I laughed my butt off when I saw that in their catalog.

    So what test kit did you order from them? If it wasn't the Taylor k-2006 then it is probably missing a very important test.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: high phosphates???

    Well, I guess I got lucky because Sunday morning my pool was blue... I'm so happy! Just waiting for it to totally clear now

  13. Back To Top    #13
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: high phosphates???

    Quote Originally Posted by Peachcat
    instant liquid chlorine from In theSwim
    Quote Originally Posted by GreatCanadian
    You did not need to order liquid chlorine.
    Actually that isn't liquid chlorine, it is Calhypo.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •