Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TC vs FC on Walmart Test

1. Back To Top    #1

TC vs FC on Walmart Test

Hi there! I am new to TFP and a new pool owner. We set up our new pool on 7/13/13, added the salt the next day, waited 24 hours with the pump running and then turned on the SWG per the instruction manual. I bought the cheap 3 way test from walmart you all recommend while I wait for my TF-100 to get here. My question is, what is total chlorine?...that is what the test results give me, not FC like your article says to be testing for. Or am I confused? lol Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: TC vs FC on Walmart Test

Welcome to TFP!

Total Chlorine is Free Chlorine plus Combined Chlorine. If the water is in good shape, TC is very close to FC.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!!!

Where did you see a recommendation for a 3-way kit from Walmart? There is a 6-way that is ... OK.

You will be much better off with the TF-100
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle
    Welcome to TFP!!!

Where did you see a recommendation for a 3-way kit from Walmart? There is a 6-way that is ... OK.

You will be much better off with the TF-100
    I just assumed the 3 way would be fine to get an inital idea of PH and Chlorine until my TF-100 gets here on Friday

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by JohnT
    Welcome to TFP!