Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Clorine test orange

1. Back To Top    #1

Clorine test orange

Hi all, I am a big fan of this site and have learned a lot from all the posts. I'm still learning about the care of my pool and wanted to post a problem that just came up for me. My new pool has been up and running for almost 3 months. Chemicals have been very good, all maintained with good readings. Took a trip to the local pool store for my monthly reading from them - ph at 7.5, FCC at 5ppm, ( a little high) alkalinity, calcium all at very good levels and zero copper and iron. CA extremely high so I am considering draining about half the water and refilling to bring it down. All is going well with an extremely clear pool.

Pool store recommended a shock since I have not shocked to date, so I did on Sunday evening.

Ra the pump for about 12 to 14 hours, pool cleared up nicely. I am running the pump about 10 hours a day. 10 to 3 and 5 to 10.

Today I took a sample and did a PH and Chlorine test. PH was just fine, about 7.4 but the chlorine was orange, not yellow in the test. I did the chlorine test 2 more times with the same result. I'm using a new TL100 test kit so I feel confident it is fine.

Any ideas as to the test results? Plan on taking a sample to the pool tomorrow to see how their test comes out.

Appreciate the feedback

Any ideas as to why the test gave an orange color? Going to test again tomorrow
    17x30 freeform IG w/spa & spillover approx. 13,000g, exposed aggregate "Florida Pearl" finish; Hayward PS-4 automation w/T15 salt cell, SP3400 var. sp. pump & C1200 filter; Gulfstream 120,000 BTU HP; Pentair auto & manual valves. Built Jan 2013

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Clorine test orange