Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Phosphate levels?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Phosphate levels?

    I have never heard of this before. My son in law was having a persistant problem that was solved when the pool store diagnosed his problem as something with phosphates. They sold him a product that solved his problem.
    Sorry he was very sketchy on the details. all he knows is that "phosphate was the problem and now it's fixed"
    Is this something I should be checking regularly?
    How does it fit in with the BBB method?
    thanks.
    6600 gal IG concrete/gemcoat
    Fresh water
    1 HP motor
    StayRite PLM 100 system 2 filter
    full sun
    Treasure coast, Florida

  2. Back To Top    #2
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Phosphate levels do not matter in a properly chlorinated pool. Most likely his problem was low chlorine (for his cya level). But at least his wallet is lighter now
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Phosphates aren't a problem. Ignore them.

    They provide food for algae, but if you don't let algae get started it doesn't matter. It's kind of like saying you are fat because McDonald's sells shakes. Sure, too many shakes can make you fat, but if you don't go to McDonald's it doesn't matter what food they sell.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Read chemgeek's answer here: posphate-t65360.html
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    OK, so if I understand correctly.
    Phosphates feed algae.
    By preventing algae with proper cholirination it doesn't matter what the phosphate level is.
    Reducing the phosphate level is therefore unnecessary.
    Maintaining proper chlorination to prevent algae blooms is all that is required.
    6600 gal IG concrete/gemcoat
    Fresh water
    1 HP motor
    StayRite PLM 100 system 2 filter
    full sun
    Treasure coast, Florida

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    OK, so if I understand correctly.
    You got it dead perfect.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,637

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Quote Originally Posted by avidone1
    Phosphates feed algae.
    By preventing algae with proper cholirination it doesn't matter what the phosphate level is.
    Reducing the phosphate level is therefore unnecessary.
    Maintaining proper chlorination to prevent algae blooms is all that is required.
    Can we get that on a sticker and start secretly sticking them all over pool stores, such as next to the PhosFree?
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Charlie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Mexico, MO
    Posts
    2,156

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Quote Originally Posted by Donldson
    Quote Originally Posted by avidone1
    Phosphates feed algae.
    By preventing algae with proper cholirination it doesn't matter what the phosphate level is.
    Reducing the phosphate level is therefore unnecessary.
    Maintaining proper chlorination to prevent algae blooms is all that is required.
    Can we get that on a sticker and start secretly sticking them all over pool stores, such as next to the PhosFree?

    Too funny! Do it but don't get caught !
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Phosphate levels?

    Thanks....TFP is the best pool resource on the web.
    6600 gal IG concrete/gemcoat
    Fresh water
    1 HP motor
    StayRite PLM 100 system 2 filter
    full sun
    Treasure coast, Florida

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •