Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: NEW BBB with questions

1. Back To Top    #1

NEW BBB with questions

Hello,
    I have an 18x33x4 above ground pool. I've been using a frogger for the past 6 years and everything has been fine until last year. My levels started getting out of wack and the water is eating up my solar cover and anything plastic. I spent a fortune with PH up last year and the pool store told me to just keep adding it. I gave up on that whole thing when I found this site and the BBB method. Here are my reading as of tonight:

TA=45
    PH=6.8
    CL= 5-6 I have an HTH test kit and the CL test also has the Bromine test. I know I need to get a better test kit but can't afford it right now.
    BR=10
    CY=45

I started putting in Borax per the pool calculator to raise the PH but the reading hasn't moved. Should I have added the baking soda first to adjust the TA and then use the Borax?

My liner is slightly stained. can I get rid of this once I get all of the numbers in line with some type of stain remover?
    Thanks

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: NEW BBB with questions

What does your water look like?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to tfp, markk

By "frogger" do you mean poolfrog? If yes then, the stains may be copper since the poolfrog adds copper to the water.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

4. Back To Top    #4

I would take care of the PH first with borax. It will also raise the TA. If the TA needs to come up some more then you can adjust that.