Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Just purchased an AquaPro 500 pool heat pump! Cannot get beyond HP code after about 10 mins. What can we do to correct it?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Welcome to TFP.

    The HP error is high freon pressure usually caused by low water flow through the unit.

    What pool and equipment do you have?
    What is your filter pressure now?
    What is your clean filter pressure?
    Are you sure you have good flow through the heater?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    What is your pump and filter specs? For some reason there isn't enough flow to the heat pump.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    We have a Voyager Swim Pro Filter system.
    Pressure is 14.
    Return vent has strong water flow, which comes from the heater.
    Not sure what you mean by CLEAN filter pressure. Just have one gauge that registers pressure.

    Jan Coggins

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Where would we find pump and filter specs?
    Jan C.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Do you know the gallons per minute flow of your system? Asking because the Pro500 requires a minimum of 25 gallons per minute.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Clean filter pressure is the pressure right after you clean the filter.

    Is there a bypass around the heater?

    What model filter do you have?

    Has the HP worked at all since you've had it?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Pump is Hayward Power Flo LX
    Filter has maximum flow of 100.....Maximum pressure 30

    Jan C

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    It does come on but not long before HP code shuts it down.......then it does come back on automatically after a few minutes.

    Going to go change the filter and will get back with you to see if that may help.

    Jan C

  10. Back To Top    #10
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Then flow rate of your system is not a problem. You have strong flow out of the return, and the water is definitely going through the heater correct? YOu have no hartford loop or other bypass system correct? (just want to make sure that the water is flowing through the heater).
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Changed filter and no difference in pressure. Think, from talking with you, we need to find out how much water is flowing into the heat pump somehow! Not sure how to do this, however.

    Jan C

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    No bypass system.

    Jan C

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    The person that hooked up the hoses, put an elbow on the filter outlet to hook hose up to for some reason. Could that be causing a problem?

    Jan C

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Try and see if it will work if you take the cartridge out of the filter.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Sorry, just saw that flow is not a problem, you think. didn't see reply before I submitted another reply.

    You mean the large cartridge and just not filter the water that goes into the heater?

    Jan c

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Right. Just wanting to see what happens if you lessen the restriction some. It should increase the flow and that may be enough to make a difference.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  17. Back To Top    #17
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    The reason I said that flow is strong is because you stated "Return vent has strong water flow, which comes from the heater". If it feels strong at all it's probably enough flow (then again, "feels strong" is subjective). Try what Bama said. Your flow comes from the filter directly into the heater correct? Just want to rule out that it is somehow bypassing the heater. And then directly from the heater to the return correct? You may have a sensor issue if what Bama says doesn't work, and if the water is indeed flowing through the heater.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Okay, took filter out, watched the heater and did the same thing. HP was already blinking when I changed it, waited a minute and pump came back on......on for a short time and went off, again, showing HP.

    Another problem we are having is the gauge on the side. It has 3 lights, 1 for spa (which is green), 1 for run (which is red) and 1 for pool (not on). It will not move to the "pool" light....

    Jan C

  19. Back To Top    #19
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    It's on the spa setting, which doesn't really matter. That only allows you to set your temperature a bit higher. Though the fact you can't change it may indicate an issue with the board or circuitry. Where did you buy the heat pump?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Re: AquaPro 500 Heat Pump

    Yes, true......strong flow is relative. Trying to figure how to describe.......when I hold my hand in front of it, it moves pushes the skin on my hand. Does that make sense? The water comes from pool, into pool pump, into filter, into heater "in for cold pool water", out from heater "out for hot water from heater", into chlorine dispenser, into return vent in pool.

    Bought it online, thinking it was from AquaPro but it actually was from EBay. I eventually figured out that they came from AquaPro, to Costco, to EBay. Never again!

    Jan C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •