Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Switch for B2982 motor?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    tcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    708

    Switch for B2982 motor?

    I'm replacing my single speed 1.5 hp motor with a 2-speed 1 hp motor (B2982). Single speed is currently turned on and off with mechanical timer, something similar to this one. Do I need a SPDT switch or can I use that timer to use either Hi or Low? I no longer need to control my booster pump since I no longer use a pressure pool cleaner.

    If I can use the timer to switch the motor, is there an "ideal" run cycle? Like 1 hour on high, 7 hours on low... if I use a switch can it just be on low 8-10 hrs? Only using high for backwashing and initial pump prime.
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    I am not sure you can use the 104 to control the speed because isn't it just a DPST? Usually a 106 is used to select the speed (which you could just replace one of your timers in the enclosure.

    Or you could just use a 3-way light switch to manually select the speed after the timer.

    Schedule is kind of personal choice. If you skimmers would fine on low, then no real need to run on high speed unless you are backwashing. Also, the intial priming will need high speed, but after that the pump should stay primed and starting on low speed should be fine.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    tcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    708

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    Not sure which timer I have, just know one timer controls main pump, other controls booster pump. Adding a switch sounds easiest. Something like this? http://www.amazon.com/Amico-Position-To ... d_sim_hi_5
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    You do not need an OFF. A regular 3-way light switch would work well since you could just mount it in a waterproof outlet box. Or any SPDT switch.

    You can get some that mount on the back of the motor as well.

    Why don't you confirm what timers you have?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    tcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    708

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    Because I'm at work... will confirm when I get home.
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

  6. Back To Top    #6
    tcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    708

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    Turns out it's this timer: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0039QB2JA

    Can it be wired internally, or is it easier just to add a switch? Looks like I could wire Low to the left timer and High to the right timer. Or I assume those rectangular slots are for a switch. Got the motor, waiting on the impeller.

    Just found this: http://waterheatertimer.org/images/T106-T104-600.jpg
    Says T104 turns pump on-off; T106 changes pump from high speed to low speed
    That's assuming I have these switches inside the pf1202
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    That is just 2 T104 with the added freeze protection. You can not put the high on one timer and the low on the other because there is no way to ensure that you only ever powered one speed at the same time ... the 2 timers are no connected. Best option would be to add a switch. Although it looks like you need these to be able to mount the 3-way switch:
    http://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-21T156 ... B004H3395Y

    Here is the manual:
    http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/Inter ... 1202T.ashx
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    tcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    708

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    Just changed out my motor (and impeller and seal kit). Wow, what difference! On high the 2 speed 1hp seems to pump as much water as the old 1.5hp and is twice as quiet (same filter pressure). On low the only thing I can hear is my old auto chlorinator (that's on off), clicking a bit. Barely a hum from the motor water is moving!) I used a $5 3-way 20amp light switch from Home Depot. Drilled 2 holes for the screws where the knock out is for the toggle. Screwed the switch to the removable plate, and wired it up (only had to run one extra wire to the motor). Took about 2 hours for all. Running on low at 1.4 amps (down from 10 amps on old motor); filter pressure at 10 down from 29. Took a bit to get it primed (on high), had to dump a bucket of water in and close the lid fast to get it to prime, but now should be smooth sailing! Thank you all for the suggestions.

    I put the suggested impeller in for the 1hp motor, but old one looks the same, so not sure if that was needed.
    IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Switch for B2982 motor?

    Happy it is working well for you
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •