Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Intex 1600 High Pressure

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Hi. I have an Intex 12' x 24' AGP. With the 1600 Sand Filter and SWG. All is running beautifully. However the pressure that it is running at is constantly high. I've backwashed loads of times but to no avail. Still the pressure is constantly in the yellow, approx 16 psi. Any ideas?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    If "all is running beautifully", you are probably ok. First question is, are you sure the gauge works. What you need to know is the clean pressure. This means that after backwashing your sand, and turning it back to filter mode, what does the pressure gauge read? Then, when it gets 20 to 25% above that reading it's time to backwash again. For example, if your pressure reading is 16 psi, when it hits 20, backwash. That being said, 16 seems high for that filter. When you turn off the pump does the gauge go to zero?

    GC
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    No. It drops to maybe 11 or 12 psi.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Butler, PA
    Posts
    336

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Is you gauge functioning properly? I don't know if you have a multiport head with that filtering system, but if you do does it zero-out when shut off / when you change the settings does your pressure change? It should definitely zero out when powered off and I would think pressure change is noticeable when you go from "filter" to "recirculate".

    Is your basket in your pump full of debris? The lady in our office had that problem, her water wasn't clearing, she had an older sand filter so she checked the sand bed and it was fine, but after several days she looked at everything again and found her basket where the water comes into the pump was filled, actually jammed with debris. Once she cleared that, her water cleared and everything ran and cleared as it should have.

    If it wouldn't be the gauge or an easily detected visible blockage, possibly one of your hoses could be blocked.

    I would check the gauge first ~ they are a lot of times broken before they have been used and break easily especially is they have been on any length of time and weathered.
    AGP: 27' x 52" : 17,500 gallon
    300 lb. Sand Filter (75 gpm) / 1.5 hp pump
    Full Sun ~ All Day

  5. Back To Top    #5
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Did you mean it drops BY 11 or 12; or it drops TO 11 or 12. Either way, i think your gauge is the problem. Not a big issue. Get a new one when you get around to it. For now watch for it rising a few psi, and then backwash. Keep an eye on the flow. If you feel it has slowed, backwash.

    GC
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Ive just been out to check. Geez its warm out there! With the filter turned off the guage reads as a gnats tadger above 12psi. Turned on its approximately 16.5psi. Im guessing that you are correct and guage is knackered. Are new guages universal or does it have to be an intex one?

  7. Back To Top    #7
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Not sure what gauge is on that filter. Can you turn off your pump, close of your returns, and take the gauge out? Take it to the store with you.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Butler, PA
    Posts
    336

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Quote Originally Posted by leewin
    gnats tadger... & knackered
    Are you from the UK?
    AGP: 27' x 52" : 17,500 gallon
    300 lb. Sand Filter (75 gpm) / 1.5 hp pump
    Full Sun ~ All Day

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Yes originally. I now live in southern Spain.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    msgtdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    653

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    The gauge should be standard, the OEM intex comes with some color markings but they aren't critical. When I was using mine it would run in the green when clean and just as it hit yellow there would be a large drop in flow. That is when I'd backwash. SIL now has that pump and filter as I upgraded.
    Dan D
    Used 2003 Aqua Leader 27'x52", 17,800 w/10" hopper, SwimPro SW256T 250# sand filter, Hayward PowerFlo LX pump 1hp impellor, Emerson 1 1/2 hp motor, setup Aug 2012 Summer 2011 used Summer Escapes Ring pool 14' x 42", Intex 1600gph sand filter, HTH 6 way test kitTF-100 w/stirrer, Well water @ FC=0, PH=7.2, TA=290, CH=320

  11. Back To Top    #11
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    If I were you I would get a gauge that reads from 0 to 30 psi. instead of the 60 on the intex gauge. Much easier to more accurately read the pressure. Again, be sure to get a clean reading for a reference point (meaning what is the pressure after a good backwash). After a 25% increase in pressure, backwash.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    186

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    I think your problem may be the same as mine, but in the opposite direction.

    I have read several time about how those Intex pressure gauges suck. That reminds me to replace mine. My pressure seems way too low and I know that pre- and post-backwash measurements are barely different, if at all. And it should be higher because flow is down and the backwash water is filthy. Gauge is probably sticking.
    Intex UltraFrame 14'x48in - 3,900 gallons. Intex 1600 GPH combo Sand Filter/SWG Hard Plumbed w/Hayward skimmer, suction & return. Borates.
    And... 15k gallon kidney shaped gunite 1975 vintage. Hayward DE3620 filter + Hayward 750 pump.
    TF100 Test Kit | Pool School | Pool Math

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    186

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Quote Originally Posted by GreatCanadian
    If I were you I would get a gauge that reads from 0 to 30 psi. instead of the 60 pon the intex gauge.
    Excellent idea that i didn't think about. I'm going to steal that idea.
    Intex UltraFrame 14'x48in - 3,900 gallons. Intex 1600 GPH combo Sand Filter/SWG Hard Plumbed w/Hayward skimmer, suction & return. Borates.
    And... 15k gallon kidney shaped gunite 1975 vintage. Hayward DE3620 filter + Hayward 750 pump.
    TF100 Test Kit | Pool School | Pool Math

  14. Back To Top    #14
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Lol. I've stolen a lot of ideas from this site, so I won't begrudge you that one!!

    GC
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  15. Back To Top    #15
    msgtdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    653

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    Yeah the OEM gauge is definitely to high, I had very little needle movement between clean and dirty, mostly used loss of flow as the indicator to backwash. It usually happened pretty fast, as in one day good flow and the next a large drop. But then I live on a dirt road and filtering out the road dust was like adding to much DE.

    I don't steal the ideas, I borrow and give credit. This place is awesome!
    Dan D
    Used 2003 Aqua Leader 27'x52", 17,800 w/10" hopper, SwimPro SW256T 250# sand filter, Hayward PowerFlo LX pump 1hp impellor, Emerson 1 1/2 hp motor, setup Aug 2012 Summer 2011 used Summer Escapes Ring pool 14' x 42", Intex 1600gph sand filter, HTH 6 way test kitTF-100 w/stirrer, Well water @ FC=0, PH=7.2, TA=290, CH=320

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    44

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    I actually came here today looking for info on the Intex sand filter pressure gauge. Not long after getting the pump I noticed some moisture in the gauge. We've had a lot of heavy rain and super high humidity lately and now the gauge is actually filling with water and it's so foggy I can't even read it! I was going to call Intex to try to get a replacement under warranty, but it sounds like I may be better off just getting a different one. I just figured it was another non-standard item like everything else Intex so I wasn't sure if it would work.
    16'x48" Intex Ultra Frame Pool
    Intex 2650gph Sand Filter Pump
    Intex SWG

  17. Back To Top    #17
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    My first intex gauge was broke when I got it. It's not of the highest quality for sure.

    You can get oil filled gauges which should eliminate the moisture issue.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Fallsburg, NY
    Posts
    258

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    I have the same problem, my Intex gauge is now half full of water after a week of heavy rain. Looks like it is starting to rust on the inside as well. I'll be replacing mine soon. It has always read just at the border of the yellow anyway even when first installed.
    8638 gallon 20'x52" Intex ultra frame round AG. 2650 gph Intex Sand Filter. Intex krystal Klear SWG. (newer model that includes copper ion generation) Hayward 1091LX skimmer, Kreepy Krauly lil shark. Taylor K-2006 w/speed stir and sample sizer. New this year, Intex PureSpa - dichlor-> bleach method for sanitizing.
    New pool, 16'x36' (approx 18000 gal) in ground pool, Haywood DE filter

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    186

    Re: Intex 1600 High Pressure

    So, can the Intex gauge be replaced by a standard 1/4" gauge like the one on TFTestkits.net?
    Intex UltraFrame 14'x48in - 3,900 gallons. Intex 1600 GPH combo Sand Filter/SWG Hard Plumbed w/Hayward skimmer, suction & return. Borates.
    And... 15k gallon kidney shaped gunite 1975 vintage. Hayward DE3620 filter + Hayward 750 pump.
    TF100 Test Kit | Pool School | Pool Math

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •