Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: hotub newbie ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    hotub newbie ?

    just got my hottub hooked up yesterday by an electrician...ready to go
    added water..temp is now 104.......
    my question is
    after daily use..do you turn your hottub off completely..in my case the shutoof breaker..and when want to use next time..maybe have the spa running an hour fefore you want to get in for higher temp....
    thanks

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    177

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    My hot tub stays on 24x7x365. It has an economy setting to lower the temp during the day when no one is home to use it though. The electrical bill increase from it running non-stop is negligible. I wouldn't turn it off except when you're draining and won't be using for an extended period or the water will get nasty.
    Just bought a new house in the country, no pool yet. :(
    Hot tub..500 gals..bromine
    TF100 test kit and speedstir

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    Welcome to TFP!
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    Thanks guys....
    well couple of more ?'s
    well hottub came 2 weeks earlier than expected...so while here ordered Aqua Finess
    Hot tub spa water care system
    ..still awaiting it in the mail...
    but we could not wait as we had the hottub running from Saturday to now Monday with no chemicals....when aqua finesse arrives anyday now...could I just add to existing water...or would you suggest drain and add aqua finess......

    thanks

  5. Back To Top    #5
    harleysilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Georgia
    Posts
    1,924

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    From the Aqua Finess webstite....

    Which sanitiser is best to use with AquaFinesse?
    AquaFinesse is normally supplied with a chlorine tablet and a slow release dispenser, however this can be substituted for chlorine granules or bromine dependant on personal preference and the spa manufactures recommendations.

    So my question is, why are you going with AquaFinessee?

    You still have to add Chlorine in some form. I couldn't find the chemicals in their solution you are buying, do they disclose that info?
    18'x43' Sport Pool
    19,000 Gallons Vinyl Liner 3'-3.5'-4'
    SWCG and D.E. Filter
    Test Kits - Pool Calculator - Chlorine/CYA Chart - Pool School

    Secret Weapon for Pool Chemistry Testing

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    found this
    AquaFinesse Hot Tub Water Care Starter Kit











    $59.99



    Product Description


    Hot Water Care Starter Kit

    Includes everything required for one month of spa maintenance.

    Contains a 1L bottle of AquaFinesse solution, 2 filter cleaner tablets, sanitizer and instruction manual. Available with Dichlor powder

    How to use AquaFinesse in your spa.

    AquaFinesse is a simple, one-step system that makes it easy to keep the water in your spa clean, crystal clear and silky soft.

    ONE minute. ONE time per week.

    AquaFinesse makes it easy to keep the water in your spa clean, crystal clear and silky soft. Its all-natural ingredients reduce the need for harsh chemicals by up to 60%. Spend less time maintaining your spa and more time enjoying it with AquaFinesse.

    Before you use AquaFinesse for the first time, you’ll need to take a few minutes to prep your spa. After that, one minute, one time per week is all it takes – so you can spend more time enjoying your spa, and less time maintaining it.

    Preparing your spa for AquaFinesse.

    It takes a few minutes to prep your spa before you use AquaFinesse.

    Step 1: Remove and clean the filter in your spa. Use an AquaFinesse Spa Clean tablet in order to purge all the lines for deep cleaning of your spa.

    Step 2: Drain your spa and fill it with fresh water.

    Step 3: As always, keep the water balanced.

    That’s it! Once your water is balanced, you’re ready to get started.

    Weekly maintenance.

    After each use add 1 teaspoon of granular chlorine (this will be long gone by your next use so you are always soaking in chlorine free water), add the proper dosage of AquaFinesse weekly, and then test once a month (yes that is correct once a month) to double check you pH.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    harleysilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Georgia
    Posts
    1,924

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    The last sentence is troubling.

    Have you read this? how-do-i-use-chlorine-in-my-spa-or-pool-t10095.html
    18'x43' Sport Pool
    19,000 Gallons Vinyl Liner 3'-3.5'-4'
    SWCG and D.E. Filter
    Test Kits - Pool Calculator - Chlorine/CYA Chart - Pool School

    Secret Weapon for Pool Chemistry Testing

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    It's your spa and you can do what you want, but at another hot tub forum there were quite a few incidents of hot tub rash/itch/lung so I kept track of them along with the methods of sanitation. Some of the incidents were "alternative" systems including Aquafinesse while many were chlorine but with insufficient dosing or were Dichlor-only after several months so had Cyanuric Acid (CYA) build-up.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    just realized still have spa aquarius Bromine sanitizer which are 20 g tablets....have this from the soft tub we had used in the past....our hottub is •Water capacity: 1,098 L (290 USG)
    so maybe will go Bromine way at first and see how it goes instaed of chlorine....little slow here,,how many tablets would you think would have to use at start
    total newbie...
    thanks

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    If you go with bromine then read Using Bromine in a Spa. You would normally start out adding sodium bromide to establish a bromide bank and would use an oxidizer after each soak to create enough bromine to handle the soak. The bromine tabs would be used for a background level of bromine in between soaks, especially if you aren't soaking every day. An ozonator (if present) will create more bromine from the bromide bank.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    ?
    do you shock the hottub first or use chemicals than shock
    thanks

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    I'm not sure I understand your question. If you are asking whether you add sodium bromide first after a fresh refill to establish a bromide bank, the answer is yes. If you were to add an oxidizer to the spa before adding the sodium bromide, then you won't be producing bromine. If you are asking about whether to balance the spas pH and TA first, I'd first do the bromide and add oxidizer to make bromine, then go about adjusting other water parameters such as pH, TA and CH (if you want to reduce foaming, you adjust CH to 120-150 ppm).
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    appreciate the responses,,learning a lot
    how often should one use the test scripts....every day..every couple of days,,weekly
    thanks

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dcjcdc
    appreciate the responses,,learning a lot
    how often should one use the test scripts....every day..every couple of days,,weekly
    thanks

    the test strips are just about useless if you want accuracy.
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: hotub newbie ?

    Yes, the test strips are pretty much useless. Get yourself a proper test kit, either the TFTestkits TF-100 or the Taylor K-2006 if you go with chlorine. If you go with bromine, you can still use those kits or you can get the Taylor K-2106 but that will only test for bromine and not chlorine (and doesn't have the CYA test which isn't needed when using bromine).
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •