Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: shocking my pool

1. Back To Top    #1

shocking my pool

hello everyone, i'm new to this and have a question... after spending $40 dollars on bleach trying to shock a green pool, i was running out of time and money so i put 5 lbs of cal-hypo in the pool two days ago, it's back to blue with cloudiness. i know my test are not accurate with the pool in shock mode but here they are.
    stabilizer - 80
    ph - 7.4
    alkalinity - 110
    hardness - 0
    color of my chlorine test - deep orange

do i just wait now?
    24' x 52' Round AG 11,200 gal., 2 HP pump Cartridge Filter

2. Back To Top    #2
    Gurnee, IL (North Suburban Chi-town)

Re: shocking my pool

Welcome to the forum.

Spend a little time in Pool School. Link is upper right corner of every page. We want to help, but we'll be speaking Yiddish unless you do a little reading first.
    33' round, 23,000 gal AG vinyl , 1HP 2spd PowerFlo Matrix downsized with 3/4HP impeller (X2), Hayward S180T 150# sand filter (X2), Hayward H250 NG heater Pool Store year 1 - $850 for 2 months; Pool Store year 2 - $440 for 2 months, TFPC year 1 - $170 for 4 months; TFPC year 2 - $95 for 4.5 months
    The most important article on this site - The ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

3. Back To Top    #3
    Twin Cities, MN

Welcome to tfp, juicierthnfruit

What type and size of pool do you have?

The shocking process we teach on here is a little different then just adding product to the is a process of holding the chlorine level appropriately high until the algae is gone. See this pool school article: