Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    According to the directions in the TF 100:

    "Add r-009 one drop at a time, swirling between each drop. Wipe the tip of the bottle after every drop with a damp cloth"



    Is this really necessary? What difference does it make?
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    Static electricity can build up on the dropper tip, which changes the drop size, and throws off the test results. In theory this can happen to any of the tests involving dropper bottles, but in practice it is only at all common on the TA test. A damp cloth/tissue shorts out the static charge, restoring the drop size to normal.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    This also only appears to be a real problem when the kit is new. The drops were practically shooting out of mine new kit. Now it appears there is no more issue.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    Yeah, it is a transient condition usually lasting only a couple of weeks.

    Too many newbies read that and start wiping down every reagent on every test.....total waste of your valuable time. I have never seen it on anything but the R-0009.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    HamburgerChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Indianapolis Indiana
    Posts
    100

    Re: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle
    This also only appears to be a real problem when the kit is new. The drops were practically shooting out of mine new kit. Now it appears there is no more issue.
    Good to know. I have a new kit and have been having weird #'s. Maybe I am not totally incompetent after all.
    13,500gal AGP Matrix 24'
    Pentair Sanddollar SD-80 75GPM filter, Pentair Dynamo 1HP 2 speed pump
    Polaris 65 pool cleaner
    (20'x30" solar heater to be installed)

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    266

    Re: Why the need to wipe between drops when testing for TA?

    You can tell if this is a problem. You get "small drops". It's difficult to describe but the best way is you don't see those "nice, plump, full drops" that seem to drop from their own weight. Believe it or not a drop is a fairly accurate and consistent measurement based on surface tension.
    18x36 inground vinyl lined, Hayward sand filter and tablet chrolinator, approx 18k gallon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •