Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Confused by TF100 DPD FC numbers

1. Back To Top    #1

Confused by TF100 DPD FC numbers

Hello,

I'm just getting started and some of my numbers are not making sense. I've had the pool open for a month and I've had the water clear for about a week. I have the pool at 40K gallons because that's what the pool store said it was.

Last night I wanted to shock it so I added 2 gallons of 12.5% bleach. Using the tf100 test with the dpd powder it took 7 drops to clear the solution prior to adding the bleach so 3.5 FC, and then about an hour and a half after adding the stuff it took 32 drops to clear it so 16 FC. These numbers are way off what the pool calculator says. Am I missing something?

I have the CYA at around 35, but I'm not super confident about that test.
    40K gallon plaster, S8M150 sta-rite system 3 cartridge filter, Paramount infloor cleaning system with 9 port and debris canister, Pentair pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Confused by TF100 DPD FC numbers

40,000 gallons is a HUGE pool. I'd grab a tape measure and start re-calculating volume. The other possibility is that you used the 25 ml sample but multiplied for the 10 ml sample. Which would mean it went from 1.4 to 6.4.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Def using 10ml.

The pool is a funky shape:
    [attachment=0:37nepr4f]pool_sm.jpg[/attachment:37nepr4f]

but it is 48feet long and 18 feet wide at the deep end, and has about a 9 foot deep end and a 4 foot shallow end. Could that be 40K?
    Attached Images Attached Images