Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pump won't run

1. Back To Top    #1

Pump won't run

I just got done finishing out the electrical and now the pump won't run. I had the wiring temporarily hooked up without a box on the outside of the house and it worked fine. I put a permanent weatherproof box on the house and connected the wires with weatherproof wire-nuts. I have a lot of experience with electrical work (yes it is wired correctly for size) but no experience with electric motors.

The pump was working fine before but now it is really hard to start. If i turn the switch to low or high it hums but doesn't run. Retry and it may run or not run. When it does run it hesitates for a second or two humming and then starts pumping. When it runs it is quite and runs fine.

It didn't do this before the new box. It would start pumping immediately. What gives?
    13,500gal AGP Matrix 24'
    Pentair Sanddollar SD-80 75GPM filter, Pentair Dynamo 1HP 2 speed pump
    Polaris 65 pool cleaner
    (20'x30" solar heater to be installed)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pump won't run

How long a run and what wire gauge did you do to the pump? What is the voltage reading?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

3. Back To Top    #3

Wire is 12 AWG about an 80' run. 15 amp GFCI breaker. All within the limits of the pumps documentation.

Left it off for about 15 minutes and then it fired right up. I hate electrical Gremlins. They are exactly the reason I gave up on an electrical carreer and became a Nurse.