Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Help I'm a Newb!!! hehe

1. Back To Top    #1

Help I'm a Newb!!! hehe

All,

Iím on day 4 of fighting algae and day 4 of BBB!!! I ordered a K-2006 on Tuesday and expect it tomorrow. Iíd give you numbers but they are what Leslieís gave me 4 days ago when I got committed to BBB. My Calcium Hardness is kinda lo like 50 but who cares.. Iíve got a vinyl pool. I'm not gonna be pool "stored"!!!!

Iíve shocked my pool up to 16FC twice with no way to test for FC. I assumed it(FC) was still zero as Leslie had told me.
    My PH was Ultra High so I used the calculator and added muriatic acid and it is just below normal, which Iíve read is great for fighting algae.

I scrub my walls and floors daily and my pump and filter have been going 24/7 with my crappy OTO test I can see that the FC is way above the resolution of that crappy tester!!!

What am I missing.
    A.> Patience
    B.> My mind
    C.> Aptitude to jump my fence an cut down my neighborís sweet gum that hangs over the pool?
    D.> Shouldnít have bought a house with a pool
    26k IG Vinyl, 2 HP single speed,24" Tagelus Sand, 1.5" pipe, 1 Main, 1 Skimmer, 2 jets, pool built 1983, new vinyl 2014, 36'x18', Deep End 8', The PoolCleaner 4X Suction.
    Pool Math #__# Pool School #__# Best Android App "Pool Pal" Track Your Levels!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help I'm a Newb!!! hehe

Quote Originally Posted by xokeman
    My PH was Ultra High so I used the calculator and added muriatic acid and it is just below normal, which Iíve read is great for fighting algae.
    A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. So is taking pH readings when chlorine is at shock level. accurate-ph-test-during-shock-levels-with-r-007-t61076.html

Did you take the readings and make the adjustment before or after you dumped in the chlorine?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.