Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fuse problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    15

    Fuse problem


    Original Blown Fuse - NON 20 amp 250V


    New Blown Fuse - NON 20 amp 250V

    I seem to have an issue with blowing fuses. I have a GFCI breaker on my main box at my house which leads out to the box seen in the pictures above. I replaced my pump this year. It's a 1HP Super Pump running on 120V. The original blown fuse was used all last year after we bought the house. It ran for over a month and a half at start up this year. I replaced the fuse after work last night around 6PM and woke up this morning to it being blown.

    Does anyone have any idea why the new fuse blew so quickly? Do I need to switch to a FRN fuse?

    Of course I'm supposed to have a 4th of July party so I want to try and get this resolved.

    Thanks!!!
    Eric N - Pittsburgh, PA
    16000 gallon rectangular in-ground (14' x 28', 3.5' - 7.5')
    DE Filter
    Vinyl Liner

  2. Back To Top    #2
    cramar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sault Ontario
    Posts
    1,143

    Re: Fuse problem

    Those pics aren't working, regardless, if you keep blowing fuses you don't have a fuse problem you have a capacity problem in that there is too much load on the circuit.
    What size wire is it?
    How long is the wire run?
    What items are on the circuit? Just the pump? Anything else?

    20 amps should be enough to run the pump, don't start putting larger fuses in, that can be dangerous.
    20' X 54" Sharkline Matrix Resin AGP, 9400 Gallons, Sta-Rite 1 HP Dynamo Pump, 150 lb Pentair Sand Filter, Gorilla Pad,
    Foam Cove, Taylor K-2006 kit, BBB method, 8'X20' Fafco Sunsaver Hard Plumb, DIY Fountain, Margarittaville Fiji


    My Build: one-man-one-pool-and-one-deck-agp-pics-t37172.html
    My Build 'To-Do' List for other DIY'ers: my-pool-build-list-t40249.html?hilit=list

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Fuse problem

    Make sure you don't have a loose connection anyplace. Motors try to run regardless of what's going in, and they draw more current if the voltage goes down.

    Is it tripping when the motor starts, after a long run, or randomly?
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    15

    Re: Fuse problem


    Original Blown Fuse

    New Blown Fuse

    The pictures should work now.

    I'm not sure of the gauge of the wire. The pump is the only device on the circuit. The run is probably between 75' and 100'.

    I'll check the connections again. I checked them at the box outside before I put the fuse back in and everything was secure.

    It just randomly tripping in my opinion. I don't have a timer yet so the pump constantly runs. It ran all last summer and for a month and a half straight this year, then tripped. The new fuse was installed last night at 6PM and blew sometime in the middle of the night.

    Does anyone have any thoughts on NON vs FRN fuses for motor applications? The only reason I used NON is that was what was in use already. The packaging for the NON fuse said to use FRN fuses for motors, however.

    Thanks for the help everyone!
    Eric N - Pittsburgh, PA
    16000 gallon rectangular in-ground (14' x 28', 3.5' - 7.5')
    DE Filter
    Vinyl Liner

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Fuse problem

    If it ran all last season and 2 months of this season and wasn't blowing the fuse, I'd start looking for something else besides the fuse.

    Have you checked the amp draw of the motor?
    Have you tried to spins the motor by hand to see if a bearing is dragging?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    15

    Re: Fuse problem

    I reached through the strainer basket area and spun the impeller and it wasn't dragging, in my opinion.

    I'll check the amp draw of the motor next, that makes sense.

    I'm starting to wonder if I nicked the wire when I replaced some of the plumbing when I opened this year. I had to dig around the wire to get to the plumbing. The wire is only a couple inches underground. I'm just wondering why it's been OK until now. The only thing I can think of is we've had a couple torrential downpours the past couple days, maybe the ground became over saturated and if the wire was nicked it shorted? I guess I'll check that too...
    Eric N - Pittsburgh, PA
    16000 gallon rectangular in-ground (14' x 28', 3.5' - 7.5')
    DE Filter
    Vinyl Liner

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Fuse problem

    The lower clip for the fuse is discolored. Normally I'd chalk that up to corrosion, but the one right next to it is shiny. That makes me think that holder is running hot more than just occasionally. Lugs look the same way. Can you swap over and use the other fuse holder?

    The FRN fuse is a better choice, but it really only has an advantage in tolerating motor start-up current, and that isn't when you are seeing the problem.

    If you had nicked a wire you'd be tripping your GFCI.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    15

    Re: Fuse problem

    I dug up around where I thought I potentially nicked the line. The line was in perfect shape, no nicks, burns, or damage.

    I then checked all of my connections, first from my panel to my safety switch, in the safety switch, then from safety switch to pump. As John recommended, I switched over to the right pole and I used a FRN fuse. The pump has been running since 7PM last night with no issue. Hopefully the problem is fixed!
    Eric N - Pittsburgh, PA
    16000 gallon rectangular in-ground (14' x 28', 3.5' - 7.5')
    DE Filter
    Vinyl Liner

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Fuse problem

    There are breaker fuses you can use to replace those, that way you won't have to keep buying more while you hunt down the problem.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •