Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: 6.8 pH and site says go down?

1. Back To Top    #1

6.8 pH and site says go down?

I am new to pooling and have no idea about chemicals or quantities. So I used the aquachem 6 way test strip and plugged the results into their website. But what I don't understand is if my pH is low, why in the world would I go down? I have looked around the site here and would figure my pH needs to be say 7.2 or so. So if it's 6.8 or less according to the strip results wouldn't I go up? And we were planning on using baking soda to do so. Any advice here please!
    Intex Ultra-Frame 26x52 AGP (14,650 gal.)
    Intex Pump & Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: 6.8 pH and site says go down?

What do you to sanitize your pool?? Do you use pucks and granulated shock??

3. Back To Top    #3

If it's 6.8 you certainly need to raise it.
    What numbers did you enter on the aquachem site?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

4. Back To Top    #4

Baking soda is not an appropriate way to raise PH. Baking soda raises TA a great deal, and PH very little.

Another thing to think on, many tests report any PH below 6.8 as 6.8, so your actual PH might be lower.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

5. Back To Top    #5