bleach floater

jim001

Jun 23, 2013
kouts indiana
I have been using chlorine for 19 years with 4 diffrent pools with pretty good results, however this year I ran into trouble and found this site. I am learning the ropes of doing it the correct way versus just throwing bleach in, when it tests low on cheap teat strips.( I will be buying the right kit soon). any way in the past I would punch holes in a full bottle of bleach and tie it to the ladder when I was going to be gone for a weekend. Not sure if it did any thing but I always came home to a clean pool. Any thoughts on this?

My first thought is that it worked for you so don't fix it if it ain't broke!

My second thought is it would be difficult to teach that as a method others can use because each pool is different and there are just too many variables. It might work in 3 out of 6 pools. More likely, it might work in one out of 10 pools but to develop a method that would consistently work in all pools would be quite difficult.

Nevertheless, you have a good grip on the concept of feeding your pool chlorine so I think I would continue doing what you are doing.

I often wondered about this very same thing, I'd call it a poor man's bleach automation system. Really you would need to test it with water, to see what flow rate you get over time. Perhaps hangining it in the middle of the pool, or suspended over a return would be best. Shouldn't be hard using pool calc. To figure out how much each per day is needed.

Problem is what happens after 1 day? Perhaps a bigger container is warranted....

I had the same idea but haven't tried it yet, so I'm glad to know it can actually work.

I thought I'd drill some small holes ih a jug of chlorine and leave it to float freely. Or, if I used a smaller bottle I could leave it in the skimmer.

We just bought a house with a pool, and until we move in I can only drive out to check on the pool maybe twice a week. I don't want to use tablets and raise the CYA any higher.