Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Hi All,
    I have an Suntouch controller ( about 3 months old) connected to a Intelliflo VS and a Intellichlor. I have just a single pool, no values, no features, no dedicated vacuum line. I have tried on several occasions to program the Suntouch but I loose my patience really quick with this thing. This thing is a "clickamajig" and worst than using MS Windows!
    Anyway, I have it configured for simple "Pool" whereby I can turn on the pump by hitting "Menu" > "Right Arrow" > "Down Arrow" to turn it on. Same thing for turning it off. That is it.
    What I am trying to do is to have several separate pump speeds like one for normal scheduled use, one for automatic vacuum and finally one for manual vacuuming. I have tried going to 12/14(Pump) >IntellifloVS > and then setting the speeds for different Circuits but I do not know how to turn these circuits on of even if this is the correct way to accomplish this.
    If anyone can help out with this it would be greatly appreciated?

    Thanks John
    7400 gallon, IG vinyl, .75HP, Cartridge, Zodiac Chlor Perfect chlorinator. Almost finished building :)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    77

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Im having these same questions. can anyone help?
    18x36 Inground 22000 gal Vinyl Lined sport pool \ P Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, Sta-rite 400SQ FT Cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 250K HD Heater, Pentair SunTouch Control System, Pentair IC40 SWG, 2 Pentair Intellibrite 5G Lights, Pentair Intellibrite lite Controller, Pentair Kreepy Krauly 820 robot.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Most things in Pentair land are Aux circuits. You define an Aux circuit and then assign it a pump speed. The pump will automatically switch to the speed of the highest speed circuit that is currently turned on.

    Aux 1 has a physical button for on/off, Aux 2 & 3 can be turned on/off from the Circuit On/Off menu.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    77

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    ok im still confused. im sorry.

    I basically just want to run the pump at 2400 rpms while heating through natural gas heater

    1800 rpms during the day 8 hours to help maintain CL, (at least start there and improvise as conditions require)

    night time cut it down to 1000 rpms to keep circulation?

    so how do i do this? through the circuit menu or pump menu on the ST that is where im stumped.
    18x36 Inground 22000 gal Vinyl Lined sport pool \ P Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, Sta-rite 400SQ FT Cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 250K HD Heater, Pentair SunTouch Control System, Pentair IC40 SWG, 2 Pentair Intellibrite 5G Lights, Pentair Intellibrite lite Controller, Pentair Kreepy Krauly 820 robot.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Assign 2400 rpm to the heater, 1000 rpm to the pump and make an aux with a schedule and assign 1800 rpm to it.

    By the by, you don't need anywhere near that much pump runtime. 4 to 6 hours a day is usually more than enough.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    77

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    ok i think i got it! .. do you think those are good rpms tho? what do you think is ideal way of doing run time.
    18x36 Inground 22000 gal Vinyl Lined sport pool \ P Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, Sta-rite 400SQ FT Cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 250K HD Heater, Pentair SunTouch Control System, Pentair IC40 SWG, 2 Pentair Intellibrite 5G Lights, Pentair Intellibrite lite Controller, Pentair Kreepy Krauly 820 robot.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Your heater speed looks good. You should be able to turn that down a little, I suspect 2000 will still be good, but you are in the right ballpark.

    For the SWG, your best bet is to experiment with the speeds, finding the lowest speed that the SWG is happy with, then turn that up 200 or 300 rpm above the lowest speed that words, and call that your SWG speed. One extra check, if your SWG speed is below 1000 rpm, use 1000 rpm, since that is the most efficient speed on the pump. Then set it up to run between 4 and 6 hours a day at that speed, preferably split into two or three blocks spread out around the clock. There is no need to run the pump longer than that unless you need more chlorine output from the SWG or are heating and want more time with the heater on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    77

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    ok.. correct me if im wrong, if i have the heater circuit on.. it will over ride any other circuits till it gets up to temp.
    18x36 Inground 22000 gal Vinyl Lined sport pool \ P Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, Sta-rite 400SQ FT Cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 250K HD Heater, Pentair SunTouch Control System, Pentair IC40 SWG, 2 Pentair Intellibrite 5G Lights, Pentair Intellibrite lite Controller, Pentair Kreepy Krauly 820 robot.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Sort of, I'm not sure over-ride is the right word. The pump runs at the highest speed of all the circuits that are currently on. If the heater is on, it will have the highest pump speed configured, so the pump will run at that speed. If in the future you make some other circuit with a higher speed, that speed will be used when that circuit is turned on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    77

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    got it! thank you for all your help Jason it is much appreciated and thanks for everything else you do for this site. its invaluable!
    18x36 Inground 22000 gal Vinyl Lined sport pool \ P Pentair Intelliflo VS pump, Sta-rite 400SQ FT Cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 250K HD Heater, Pentair SunTouch Control System, Pentair IC40 SWG, 2 Pentair Intellibrite 5G Lights, Pentair Intellibrite lite Controller, Pentair Kreepy Krauly 820 robot.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Confused about Pentair Suntouch Controller

    Thank god I found this post, because I was about to lose my fricking mind trying to set up suntouch to control pump with multiple speeds. Whoever put together manual and designed logic on suntouch controller should be shot. Geez!!! Thanks again guys for connecting the dots. Preset priming setting doesn't help figure this stuff out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •