Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First House - First Pool

1. Back To Top    #1

First House - First Pool

Hi all -

First time posting and looking for advice as I am a beginner.

Had the house now for about a year (Mission Valley area in SO Cal). The house was built in 59, the inspector estimates the pool is from the early 80s.

They repainted the concrete and re-tiled the edge. I painted the surrounding edge to make it look presentable. All the rest was replaced (filter, pipes etc) except for the pump, I think it is refurbished.

I used to have two pepper trees over the pool that really had me cleaning the pool about 45 minutes every day. I had those removed and have already had to replace the filters (Triclops 300)

Not sure about the gallons. Although the pool is 36 ft long and at the widest 15 ft. 8.25 ft in the deep end.

Couple questions.

If the pool has a slightly salty taste and is a tad bit cloudy, what could it be that's off. PH?

Also, since the pool is a bit old, what should I be looking for in the future?

Thanks,

Mike
    1) Not sure about gallons
    2) Cartridge - Triclops 300
    3) In ground - Concrete/plaster
    4) AO Smith 1HP 230V .....Wont know flo rate until I determine gallons

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First House - First Pool

Hi Mike. We can't really say what's going on in your pool without you posting test results. We can guess and speculate all day long. It won't help me or you.

Do you have a test kit? How bout a TF-100 or K2006? One of these kits is what you need.

As for the saltiness... do you have a SWG? That could be why it taste salty. Your cloudiness is gonna be dependant on test results. Sorry.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Casey