Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Noob here

1. Back To Top    #1

Noob here

So I bought a 10' round metal frame Intex pool its been like 2 weeks and there is algae building up in the tubes to and from the pump. I have the Arm & Hammer pool cleaning tablets and used one a few days ago but that helped for about a day. There is not algae in the actual pool, just in the filter tubes. What do you veterans suggest?
    Intex 10' Metal frame AG, 550 g/h pump, Big ***** turtle, color changing lights,

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Noob here

Welcome to TFP!

How are you chlorinating the pool and what chlorine level are you maintaining?
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

How should I chlorinate the pool?
    Intex 10' Metal frame AG, 550 g/h pump, Big ***** turtle, color changing lights,

4. Back To Top    #4

Liquid chlorine (bleach) is a good source. Have you read pool school ? Check it out. Tons of good Info.

Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

5. Back To Top    #5

Read pool school. Getting a test strip pack delivered in a few days. Going to get some liquid chlorine at the store tomorrow morning. any other suggestions?

6. Back To Top    #6

Test strip pack? Not strips! Test KIT. Should look like one of these.
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

7. Back To Top    #7

Nix the test strips and go with one of the test kits recommended here. I use the TF 100 kit. It's the best.

Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

8. Back To Top    #8