Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie question about vacuuming

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie question about vacuuming

I've got some fine sand/dirt that settles to the bottom overnight and the Polaris seems to just stir it up rather than pick it up. So I'd like to vacuum it, but I've never used a pool vac before.
    I've got a vacuum head and hose but no adapter plate that fits over the skimmer basket. There are two holes in the skimmer, and I'm assuming that the vac hose will fit into one. Do I leave the filter in filter mode or put it on "waste"? The pool guy said to put it on waste, but I didn't think I would need to do that every time when there is only a little bit of debris. Thanks for any help and/or suggestions!
    SLAM * Chlorine/CYA Chart * Pool Math * Pool School
    17.5k gal IG Fiberglass, Triton II TR60 Sand Filter, Jacuzzi Magum Force Pump 1.5 hp, 3/4 hp booster, Polaris 280, TF-100 Test Kit with Speed Stir

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie question about vacuuming

I made an adaptor so the hose fits better in the suction hole, but otherwise, you are correct. The filter can handle some dirt - that's why it's there.

Set the head in and then push the hose down slowly a length at a time to push out the air and fill it with water, then hook it up and go. Sneak up on the dirt - let the suction pull the dirt into the vacuum ahead of the head.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks! I'm just nervous about breaking something