Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    Good morning!

    I have recently re-filled an old pool & installed some new equipment, with the help of TFP (see older posts). Within 24 hours of fill, we lost a foot of water. The contractors who installed the equipment told us that the leak is "probably" in the light. They identified the problem when the pool was empty, but failed to tell us before we trucked in 24k gallons of water. To put it mildly, I am a *wee* bit angry.

    But, here we are. So this is my question. The water line is about 2 inches below the skimmer. We have not run the pump or filter since the leak was detected. We have an automatic cover, so there is very little FC loss and virtually no debris other than the occasional bug in the pool, which I skim off every night. I am worried about how long I can go without running the pump/filter.

    I am assuming I cannot run the pump if the water line is below the skimmer....is this correct? Should I fill the pool to the appropriate level and run the pump overnight? We plan on fixing the leak after 7/4. We can spot fill w/ well water if needed, but I would rather not.

    Thanks for any help.

    M
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    Oh - and I am waiting to add CYA as well because it seems pointless to put it in the skimmer. The pool store (I know..) told me to dissolve it 1st & just dump it in. I am afraid to do this w/o running the pump.

    So, on top of all this, I have no CYA.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,334

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    If you have a main drain and you can close the skimmer off so that the pump only draws from it, you can run the pump like that. If you don't have a main drain, but you have a good vacuum hose you can hook the vacuum up and toss it in the bottom and draw through the vacuum hose. You may have a bit of a problem getting the pump primed but you should be able to.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    Thanks for the reply, Dave. We do have a main drain. I am guessing I need to put a plug in the skimmer pipe? Or will the pump automatically pull from the main drain w/ no water pulling from the skimmer?
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,334

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    It all depends on how it's plumbed. If the MD is plumbed into the bottom of the skimmer your diverter will seal off and draw solely from the MD when the water is low. If it's plumbed back to the pad and has a valve you can just close the valve to the skimmer.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    All right. I will take a look at it tonight and see what I got. It makes me nervous just having my fancy new pump just sitting around.
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,198

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    Using the vacuum works pretty well, I have done that myself. Keep in mind if the water is below the returns your pH may rise due to aeration. Just keep an eye on the pH and use some MA to drop it back in range when needed.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Chicago IL
    Posts
    55

    Re: Identified leak location..ok to run pump?

    Good point, Z. I will make sure to keep an eye on it.

    Can I add the CYA w/o using the skimmer? Maybe place above the returns?
    Inground 23K Concrete (16x30), Pentair Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro Sand Filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •