Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Need to add CYA?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Need to add CYA?

    I've mentioned it before but I'm not fond of the CYA test. I *think* my CYA level is 60-65. 60 is probably my best guess. I have a SWG that gets a lot of direct sunlight. The pool is screened.

    I assume I need to raise the CYA and should shoot for 80. What happens if I accidentally go over, to say, 90? Is that bad?

    I bought some Instant Conditioner: http://www.lesliespool.com/Home/Pool...ers/12306.html. I know regular cyanuric acid is more expensive but I decided to pay more for the liquid because I want to see the changes quickly, as I'm just getting the pool chemistry worked out with the SWG.

    Anyway, the gallon jug says it'll raise the CYA 32 ppm for a 10K gallon pool. My pool is 15K gallons so I guess the entire jug would raise it 24 ppm.

    My question: Should I add the entire jug or should I start with 1/2-3/4?

    Also, to confirm: I'm looking for when the black dot first completely disappears from view and I can't make it out at all, not even faintly, correct?
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Shoot low. It's easy to add more later, impossible to remove without draining.

    [center:1n87t52z][youtube:1n87t52z]NxaqoW-_MCs[/youtube:1n87t52z][/center:1n87t52z]
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Okay. So I want to get right about 80 with a SWG correct?

    I watched the video you shared but my problem is that it's so hard to tell when to take the reading. It's so subjective. The video shows that you can't see the black dot at all so I'll slowly add until I can't see it at all...I feel like my brain plays tricks on me and I can faintly make it out.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    I'm not fond of that test either!!! Like you, I've watched that video many times. I agree that it's subjective. I do it three or 4 times and then average between them. (Generally, three tests are all within 5 points of each other.)

    Sometimes, both hubby and I do it and stand there arguing "I think I can see!" "No, you can't." "Yes, I can!" "Put on your glasses, you fool!"

    The bad thing is that it uses so much reagent. So if you're constantly testing (like I am and like it sounds you are), you burn through that stuff pretty fast. I find myself wishing there was a drop test. A drop test is something that I can do and feel confident when I'm doing it.

    It kills me to wait a week to see if it's raised far enough. I want to know NOW ;-/
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Haha, I hear you Jenischmeni!

    I didn't want to wait a week at all so I bought the liquid. The stuff I bought says it works instantly so I'll mix some in with the pump running, wait a few hours, and retest. Worth it to me to get everything stabilized. I just took over maintenance of the pool and had it switched to a SWG so I really want to get the baseline right.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Let me know how it works for you as I'd be interested to see if you do notice instant results. It could be worth the extra money in stabilizer for a better piece of mind.
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Okay, will do. I'll post my results on here. I hope to add it later today.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    It is the most subjective test, no doubt, but you are making it harder than it needs to be.

    1. There is no need to test CYA over and over. It is stable in your pool and should not vary

    2. If you think you got 65 the first time, pour it back in the dispenser and dispense it back into the view tube again....take a second reading. You can pour back and forth "reading" the test 8-10 times oif you want....only using one dose of reagent.

    3. Dose carefully. If you know the gallonage of your pool and dose correctly, the CYA will be right and there is almost no need to test.

    4. The test is only viable + or - 10 ppm anyway so don't try to get more accurate than that.....there is no need.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Thanks for the clarification, but I think you may have misunderstood me. (I can't speak for doglover78.) As I said, I do repeat the test over and over. (Pouring it back into the bottle and taking the reading again.) I'm sorry if you misunderstood what I meant. That's how I average it.

    I *have* been dosing very carefully except that I'm adding a little less than recommended. I don't want to overshoot the target. (Since the fix for that is draining and refilling.) If you read the 2nd post, Richard recommends doing exactly that when he said "Shoot low. It's easy to add more later, impossible to remove without draining."

    See? I'm listening ;-/

    My particular problem is that I added about a pound and a half of stabilizer a week ago and the reading didn't change. Not an iota. Nada. Zip. In fact, I think I may have lost a point or two. Hung a new sock with only about a pound in it yesterday (hanging in a sock tied to the skimmer pole, in front of the return jet.) So, see? The only way to find out if I'm hitting my target is to test. And...it seems to me that I should be testing that throughout the summer. Just to make sure that I didn't lose any due to splash out, back washing, refilling, etc.

    And THAT's why I'm testing so much.
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    The Instant Conditioner I bought at Leslie's worked great! It took my CYA level up from 55 to 85/87. I added with the pump running, waited several hours, and retested. I highly recommend it! I added about 1/2 the jug.

    Here's the link (although it's also available on Amazon): http://www.lesliespool.com/Home/Pool...ers/12306.html
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Thanks for letting me know. I might give that a whirl next time.
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Looks like I added too much. Be careful.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    That's always my fear and why I do it in batches. (Like you were doing)
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Yup, live and learn. I swear I wasn't adding to much while I was doing it but I was wrong. I've been wrong before and I'll be wrong again. That's life. Worst case is I'll have to drain a bit and add some fresh water. Looking at the Chlorine/CYA chart on here, I think I'd like to shoot for 70. That'll allow me to shoot for an FC level of 5.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    I am not fond of this test either. I know I am about to get flamed, but for CYA, I like to go to the hardware store and test it on their digital machine. If I test it three times, it will give me virtually the same reading three times in a row. I am not getting "pool stored" but my philosophy is I buy my chlorine from them so I will make use of their very expensive piece of testing equipment a few times a season.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Jenischmeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    91

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    I gotta say.... I love this thread and love seeing that other folks hate that test, too!
    Central Indiana, 7200 gallon, IG fiberglass, L250 Jacuzzi sand filter, Hayward H150 gas heater, Pentair fiber optic light - installed '06. AOSmith 1.0hp pump, CPSC-24 SWG - installed '13. TF-100 Test Kit.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    55

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Quote Originally Posted by reynolds357
    I am not fond of this test either. I know I am about to get flamed, but for CYA, I like to go to the hardware store and test it on their digital machine. If I test it three times, it will give me virtually the same reading three times in a row. I am not getting "pool stored" but my philosophy is I buy my chlorine from them so I will make use of their very expensive piece of testing equipment a few times a season.
    Which hardware store offers this? Home Depot? Sounds awesome.
    15K gal, IG plaster, screened, Marathon Electric 1 HP single speed pump, Hayward c-900 cartridge, Hayward SwimPure 40K SWG

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    +1 don't enjoy this test :P

    I ordered the 50ppm solution last night so I can see exactly what it looks like in the test. I also realized that since I need to aerate (pH is 7.2) that my CYA test could be skewed.

    Taylor: CYA test instructions
    Aaron
    [ Vogue Vectra 24' AG | Hard plumb: Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 1HP 2-speed, 27" sand filter & Pentair MiniMax 100 NG | Taylor K-2006 | Central IL ]
    Powered by: TFP, PoolMath & TFTestkits

  19. Back To Top    #19
    tgenre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Denham Springs, LA
    Posts
    22

    Re: Need to add CYA?

    Hi. My name is Todd and I'm a CYA test hater, as well. LOL
    18k Gallon gunite with Diamond Brite Bahama Breeze, Intellichlor IC20 SWG, Intelliflo Variable Speed Pump, Pentair Clean and Clear

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •