Pump run time

May 24, 2013
South Florida
I apologize in advance b/c I'm a newbie. I love the helpful info in your Pool School section - I've read it and continue to reread and return to it.

How long do you recommend running my pump? The pool guy recommended 8 hours/day here in the summer. Does that sound like too much? Keep in mind I'm in sunny/hot/humid (this part of the year) Florida.

Any recommendations? Is it better to run the pump longer with the SWG at a lower percentage or vice versa?

My vitals:
  • 15K gallon pool, screened[/*:m:26cjbdp7]
  • SWG (Hayward SwimPure/AquaRite 40K cell)[/*:m:26cjbdp7]
  • Hayward pump (older) and brand new Hayward C-900 filter system[/*:m:26cjbdp7]
  • South Florida[/*:m:26cjbdp7]

Thanks!

There is a pool school article for that:

pool-school/pump_run_time

But in general, most pools don't need more than a 3-4 hours of run time but you may need more for the SWG. And no, it doesn't matter if you run a shorter pump time at a higher SWG % except of course if the SWG is at 100% and you don't have enough chlorine, then you will have to run the pump longer.

Thanks. I see you recommend to start at 4 hours.

Should I run the pump for X hours straight each day? Or, is it better to run it for a few hours, wait, then run it again (in order to spread it out over the day)?

I heard it's best to run the pump while the sun is shining and affecting the chemicals. True?

doglover78 said:
Should I run the pump for X hours straight each day? Or, is it better to run it for a few hours, wait, then run it again (in order to spread it out over the day)?
Since debris drops in the pool 24/7, split run time can be more efficient at removing floating debris before it sinks.

doglover78 said:
I heard it's best to run the pump while the sun is shining and affecting the chemicals. True?