Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie Runs DE filter with No DE.......

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie Runs DE filter with No DE.......

Cleaned my Jandy DE filter grid last night for the first time, the instructional video I watched didn't show adding DE after I was done. I should have known since you do it after you backwash, but as a newbie I forgot. I unfortunately ran the filter for about 2 hours last night without DE. I woke up at 2 am and put DE in last night right before the thunderstorm hit! I let it run for about 30-40 minutes and then had to go to bed.

Pressure seemed good when I turned it on again this morning and I never saw anything shoot out of the jets that shouldn't, did I dodge a bullet?

Or while running the DE filter without DE is a bad idea, would it not hurt the filter for a brief amount of time (2 hours)?

Thanks for the advice!
    15x32 16k Gal IG riversand (pebblesheen) pool, Filter: Jandy 48 sq ft DE filter, Circulation Pump: Stealth Pump 2 hp 2 speed, SWCG, Heater Size and Electronic Ignition: Jandy LRZ400 Natural Heater, Cleaning System: Polaris 280, Spa: 8 Jets, 1 fountain, Polaris 220V 1.5HP QT blower

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie Runs DE filter with No DE.......

If the water was dirty, it's probably worth opening it up and cleaning the grids. Otherwise it may just shorten your cleaning cycle.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

If your pool is relatively clean then running it for a little while without DE shouldn't hurt anything. You don't want to do that on a regular basis but I think you're ok.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

4. Back To Top    #4