Ph waaaaaaaay too high and can't get it down

May 25, 2013
Oklahoma
So not the first time I've owned a pool, but this is my first time with a SWG. Since putting up our 24x48 Intex Ultra Frame I cannot get the ph and TA down to where they are even on the scale. Took water to the pool store to test and they gave me MA. After eventually adding the entire gallon nothing happened to my ph level. Added (not all at once) the entire container of ph minus from HTH and still no ph change. TA is also not changing and is so high it's not on the scale either. I've had the SWG on, and a little chlorine floater plus I also added shock it to the pool because of algae bloom and I have never got enough chlorine in the pool to show up on the test. All other levels are perfect just my ph and TA are way too high and I have no chlorine reading. Is there something else besides MA and ph Minus that I could be using?? With the pool we had previously, we never had balancing problems, but we didn't use a SWG then either.

Welcome to the forum. :lol: The pH will come down....there's no doubt about that. Test your tap water and see what that reads.

Assuming it checks OK, you simply have not added enough acid yet....keep adding - it will come down

I would use only muriatic from here on out.

paigekorn said:
would I be able to smell the chlorine that the SWG makes?? Just wondering.
No (or not likely). If you smell "chlorine" you likely have CC and that is a sign you need to do the shocking process.

The best way I have found to tell if the swg is making chlorine is to measure the FC level of some water coming right out of the return and compare it to water in the bulk of the pool. There should be a couple of ppm FC difference.