Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Complete Newb From Northern Maryland

1. Back To Top    #1

Complete Newb From Northern Maryland

This site is the best!!!

We are in the process of getting our first pool. I decided to go with an AGP as a test to see if my kids and wife will use it enough to warrant an inground pool.

I've applied for the permit and will hopefully have the approval tomorrow, received the estimate from the electrician(ouch), and decided on a 16x28 or 15x30. I still haven't decided on a Doughboy from Van Dorn Pools or some other brand from another dealer.

Any recommendations are welcome.
    16'x28' Embassy Century AGP, Doughboy Liner, Doughboy Sand Filter and Pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Complete Newb From Northern Maryland

Good luck on the build. I am sure it will get used a lot. I don't know about the others you named but Doughboy has odd ball skimmer and return fittings if you want to hard plumb it. It can be done. They sell adapters to change it over to PVC. Don't know if it was the pool stores package or Doughboy's when we got ours. They seem to like to undersize the filter and oversize the pump. It's good you found this place before you have a pool. Read and learn. Don't come home with 2 or 3 hundred dollars worth of start up chemicals. It's not needed. I was sold on a pool frog that was used for three months. Should have got the basic pool and separate pump and filter on my own.

BTW... Go on and order your test kit. I would get the TF-100. It's you best bang for the buck.
    17500 gallon Doughboy AGP, Hayward DE filter, waiting for the 1.5hp DB pump to go out.
    Learn to take the advice here and be trouble free or use the pool store's advice. "You can't do both and get very far"

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks....getting ready to order my test kit now!!

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to tfp, ASAP

Quote Originally Posted by ASAP
    Thanks....getting ready to order my test kit now!!